The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Oct 21st

Last update:02:10:40 PM GMT

You are here: Tennis


Arina Rodionova to make US Open debut after winning wildcard play-off

Victoria’s Arina Rodionova has secured a US Open main draw wildcard after winning a play-off in New Haven, Connecticut this morning. The world No.134 and top seed at the eight-player Australian tournament, beat second seed Lizette Cabrera (Qld) in the final 7-6(5) 6-1.

Rodionova, who qualified for Wimbledon, will now play her second Grand Slam main draw in a row and her sixth overall; this will be her first time in the singles main draw at Flushing Meadows. 


Nadal starts fourth stint at No.1 In ATP Rankings

Almost nine years to the day since he first became No. 1, Spain’s Rafael Nadal today returned to the top of the Emirates ATP Rankings for his fourth stint at the pinnacle of men’s professional tennis. Nadal, who has already spent 141 total weeks at No. 1, replaces Great Britain’s Andy Murray, who had held the top spot for 41 weeks since 7 November 2016.

Nadal, who first ascended to No. 1 on 18 August 2008 at the age of 22, last held top spot three years and 45 days ago on 6 July 2014. The Spaniard will now look to stay ahead of his great Swiss rival Roger Federer and finish atop the year-end Emirates ATP Rankings for the first time since 2013 and for the fourth time in his career (2008, 2010, 2013).


New world number one Rafael Nadal returning to Brisbane

Fifteen-time Grand Slam champion and new world No.1 Rafael Nadal (ESP) has confirmed his highly anticipated return to the tenth edition of the Brisbane International presented by Suncorp in January.

Nadal will take the number one spot when the official singles rankings of the ATP World Tour are released on Monday. This will be the first time the Spanish ace has hit the top spot since 2014. 


Borg selects Tomas Berdych for Laver Cup

Czech No.1 Tomas Berdych is the first captain’s pick named for Team Europe in the inaugural Laver Cup. Berdych will line up alongside top 10 stars Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Marin Cilic and Dominic Thiem at the O₂ arena in Prague, Czech Republic from September 22-24, 2017. The world No.15’s inclusion ensures the event now features at least nine of the world’s current top 20 players.

Team Europe captain Björn Borg is thrilled Berdych has accepted his invitation.


Alex De Minaur awarded US Open wildcard

Eighteen-year-old Alex De Minaur (NSW) has been awarded a wildcard into the US Open.

The rising Aussie star has had a breakthrough season which has seen his ranking soar from world No.351 in January to a career-high of 186 this week. He reached his first ATP Challenger final in Spain last week and won his first professional title, an ITF Futures, in Portugal last month.


Red Rock Pro Open To Once Again Feature Rising Stars Of Women’s Tennis

The up-and-coming stars of the WTA will vie for more prize money immediately following the US Open as the ninth annual Red Rock Women’s Pro Open will once again take place at the Red Rock Country Club in Summerlin, Sept. 10-17.

This year’s Red Rock Pro Open players will play for $60,000 in total prize money during the week-long USTA Women’s Pro Circuit tournament with WTA players ranging in the world rankings from No. 75 to No. 225. The list of competing players will be announced soon, with the draw once again including 64 singles players (32 qualifying and 32 main draw), and a 16-team doubles draw. 


Marin Cilic and Sam Querrey round out Laver Cup teams

As the countdown continues to the inaugural Laver Cup, Marin Cilic and Sam Querrey are the latest stars to commit to the innovative tournament set to take place at the O₂ arena in Prague, Czech Republic from September 22-24, 2017.

World No.6 Cilic’s impressive tennis resume includes the 2014 US Open title, making the 28-year-old the youngest active male Grand Slam champion. He is also one of Croatia’s most decorated Davis Cup players, having played 20 ties since his debut in 2006 and leading his nation into last year’s final.


Page 8 of 207