The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Sep 20th

Last update:04:06:37 PM GMT

You are here: Tennis ATP / WTA Tour

Tennis News

Chennai Open finds a new home in Maharashtra

The Chief Minister of Maharashtra Devendra Fadnavis on Wednesday announced Tata as title sponsor of the 1st edition of Maharashtra Open here. The season opening ATP World Tour event in Maharashtra will be played at the Mhalunge Balewadi Stadium in Pune from January 1st to 6th 2018 and will be called as Tata Open Maharashtra 2018. The qualifiers will be played on December 30th & 31st, 2017 while the main draw starts from January 1st, 2018.

“I feel privileged to announce Tata as the title sponsor for Maharashtra Open. The Group has played a stellar role in upliftment of sports in the best of their capacities and their support to this ATP event organised in our state is a matter of great pride for us,” said the Chief Minister of Maharashtra. 


Denis Shapovalov named 2017 Tennis Canada Male Player of the Year

Tennis Canada announced Monday that Denis Shapovalov has been named the country’s male player of the year following a superb breakout season that saw him finish as the youngest player in the Top 100 world rankings at No. 51. The 18-year-old has also been named most improved male player of the year and male singles player of the year, while Daniel Nestor is male doubles player of the year and Felix Auger-Aliassime is male junior player of the year.

A two-time former junior player of the year, Shapovalov started 2017 ranked world No. 250 and progressed through the season from the ITF Pro Circuit level to ATP Challengers to the ATP World Tour, peaking as high as world No. 49 and finishing at No. 51. He is one of the sport’s brightest young stars, becoming a household name with his incredible run to the semifinals on home soil at Rogers Cup presented by National Bank in Montreal.


Strong field set for Sydney International 2018

Three of the world’s top 10 women – and 20 of the top 30 – will compete at Sydney International 2018.

Among them is Daria Gavrilova (Vic), the exciting Aussie who joins a strong local contingent also featuring Sam Stosur (Qld), Ashleigh Barty (Qld) and Jordan Thompson (NSW). Another is former world No.4 and Australian Open finalist Dominika Cibulkova (SVK).


Isner, Anderson and Querrey commit to play at River Oaks in 2018

A trio of Top 20 players will return to River Oaks Country Club for the Fayez Sarofim & Co. U.S. Men’s Clay Court Championship April 7-15. Former champion John Isner will be joined by two-time finalist Sam Querrey and US Open finalist Kevin Anderson in the singles draw.

The announcement of these commitments comes days before single session and Champs Pass tickets go on sale. Those tickets will be available beginning at 10 a.m. on Friday, December 1. 


Ashleigh Barty awarded 2017 Newcombe Medal

Ashleigh Barty (Qld) has won her first Newcombe Medal tonight. Australia’s top-ranked tennis player was awarded tennis’ top honour by legend John Newcombe at the annual awards ceremony at Crown Palladium in Melbourne.

The win caps off a breakout 12 months for Barty where she finished the year ranked at No.17. Barty said she was honoured to win the prestigious award.


Six Grand Slam champions in Sydney's women's field, Nishikori headlines men's field

The Sydney International will boast an extraordinary field when it welcomes a record number of Grand Slam champions to the tournament in 2018.

The 2011 US Open champion Sam Stosur, and two-time major winner Angelique Kerber, will join seven-time Grand Slam champion Venus Williams, two-time Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitová, reigning Roland Garros champion Jelena Ostapenko and US Open champion Sloane Stephens in the women’s draw. 


Asia’s best prepare for Australian Open 2018 Wildcard Play-off

A line up of the best Asian tennis players will soon compete in Zhuhai, China, for a huge prize – the chance to play at the Australian Open.

The Asia-Pacific Wildcard Play-Off field is taking shape, with 16 men and women competing for that very valuable wildcard, with the potential to kick off - or kick start - their tennis career.


Page 6 of 218