The Worlds Favourite Playground

Thursday, Jan 17th

Last update:09:55:47 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket One Day Internationals

One Day Internationals

Spin options in New Zealand ODI squad for Pakistan

The BLACKCAPS have selected two spin options in their ODI squad to face Pakistan in the opening two matches of the GJ Gardner Homes Series. Allrounders Todd Astle and Mitchell Santner both feature in the 13 man squad, with Martin Guptill also returning to the side. The opening match of the series is on 6 January at the Basin Reserve in Wellington.

BLACKCAPS Selector Gavin Larsen said having both Astle and Santner gave the team options.


Rance replaces injured Milne in New Zealand squad

Seth Rance has been brought into the BLACKCAPS squad to replace Adam Milne, who has been ruled out with a foot injury. Milne felt discomfort in his left foot while landing to bowl and has been ruled out of the remainder of the G.J Gardner Homes ODI and Twenty20 series against West Indies. He will continue to be evaulated.

“Adam has a great work ethic and puts a lot into his fitness, so I certainly feel for him with this injury,” said BLACKCAPS Selector Gavin Larsen. “It’s a long summer and there’s a lot of cricket left for Adam to play, so we’ll work with him to get him back to full fitness.

“Seth comes into the squad off the back of consistently strong domestic performances. We were already looking at Seth for the upcoming Twenty20 series, so this just brings him into the squad slightly earlier than anticipated.

Satterthwaite named ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year

For the second year in a row, a WHITE FERN has taken out the ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year award.

Canterbury Magicians batswoman Amy Satterthwaite has been recognised for her outstanding 2016-17 season by winning the top One Day prize, one year on from Captain Suzie Bates claiming the award. 


Ellyse Perry, Beth Mooney cap off stellar year with ICC Awards

Australian cricketers Ellyse Perry and Beth Mooney have been recognized for their outstanding performances across the last 12 months in the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) annual awards.

Perry, 27, has been awarded the inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for Cricketer of the Year. The award has been re-named in memory of the late Rachael Heyhoe Flint, former England captain and one of the pioneers of women’s cricket.


England U19s make it two out of two vs SA in spite of Breetzke century

England’s under-19 team are two for two against the Coca-Cola South Africa U19s after cantering to an eight-wicket win despite Matthew Breetzke scoring the only century of the day in a match that was the second-last clash of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) Youth One-Day International Triangular Series at Senwes Park on Thursday. The teams will meet again this Sunday, 10 December for the tournament final at the same venue.

Two hundred-run partnerships between Tom Banton (74 off 80 balls) and Liam Banks (37 off 61) for the first wicket and between Harry Brook (63* off 53) and Will Jacks (71* off 53) for the third, ensured the visitors’ success after being set a 249-run target by the hosts, who won the toss and elected to bat first.


Page 6 of 243