The Worlds Favourite Playground

Wednesday, Feb 21st

Last update:02:15:38 AM GMT

You are here: Motorsport


Max Verstappen commits to Red Bull Racing till 2020

Red Bull Racing announced today that Max Verstappen, who enjoyed a dream debut with the team in 2016, winning his first grand prix and re-writing Formula One’s record books, has agreed an extended contract which will see him continue to race for The Bulls for a further three years.

The 20-year-old, who lit up the sport on becoming Formula One’s youngest ever grand prix winner at the Spanish Grand Prix last year, has extended his commitment to Red Bull Racing through the 2020 season. 


Toyota Gazoo Racing claim 1-2 in 6 Hours of Fuji

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing earned a one-two finish at its home race following an eventful and rain-affected 6 Hours of Fuji, the seventh round of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC). Sébastien Buemi, Anthony Davidson and Kazuki Nakajima won their third race of the season in the #8 TS050 HYBRID, TOYOTA’s fifth victory in six events at Fuji Speedway.

Today’s win with the 1,000hp TS050 HYBRID comes at a special time in the history of hybrid technology; it is the 20th anniversary weekend of the launch of the Prius, the world’s first mass-produced hybrid car. 


Aaroh Ravindra extends National Karting Championship Lead

Rayo Racing’s Aaroh Ravindra extended his championship lead by a mere 1 point at the end of Round 4 of the Meco FMSCI National Rotax Karting Championship. The Mumbai lad kept a cool head and finished both the pre – finals and finals in 2nd position.

Earlier in the weekend, it was Bangalore racer Nirmal Umashankar from M Sport Racing who bagged pole position with a time of 54.864 ahead of Manav Sharma of BPC Racing. Aaroh could only manage third. 


Alexander Rossi wins Watkins Glen International

Alexander Rossi capped off a dominant weekend with a win on Sunday at Watkins Glen International, a beautiful 11-turn, 3.37-mile road course. While the rain held off at the historic racetrack, Rossi battled through a fuel issue and scored his first victory since the 2016 Indianapolis 500.

The 25-year-old Californian led a race-high 32 laps and drove the No. 98 NAPA Auto Parts Andretti-Herta Autosport Honda across the finish line 0.951 of a second ahead of four-time WGI winner, Scott Dixon. Rossi won the 60-lap race from pole position (the first in his IndyCar career), just two days after it was announced he would return to Andretti Autosport next season in a multi-year deal that includes NAPA.


Solid finish for Alexander Rossi at Gateway

On Saturday night, Alexander Rossi finished a strong sixth at Gateway Motorsports Park, and also moved up to seventh in the Verizon IndyCar Series Championship. In a weekend where the Team Penske Chevrolet’s were fastest on the short oval, Rossi and his Andretti Autosport Honda were able to run up front with the leaders throughout the evening.

The race marked the Verizon IndyCar Series' return to the St. Louis region for the first time in 14 years. A packed main grandstand cheered and remained standing for most of the 248 laps on the 1.25-mile oval.


Hamilton sees off Vettel challenge to win Belgian Grand Prix

 Lewis Hamilton took the 58th victory of his career, his third at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps and fifth of the 2017 season, as the Mercedes superstar closed the gap at the top of the Drivers' Championship down to just 7 points against Ferrari star Sebastian Vettel.

Ferrari finished second and fourth in a Belgian GP that was closely contested right down to the wire. Vettel was runner-up, with Kimi Raikkonen fighting back after a penalty to take fourth. Sebastian still leads the Drivers’ classification with a 7 point advantage over Lewis Hamilton.


Rayo Racing finishes 1-2 in Senior Category of National Rotax

Aaroh Ravindra from Rayo Racing continued his domination in the Senior category of the Meco FMSCI National Rotax Karting Championship here at Bengaluru. The Mumbai racer finished ahead of his Rayo Racing teammate – Aanjan Patodia who put in a brilliant performance to come from last, all way up to finish second.

Earlier in the weekend, it was Faridabad’s Manav Sharma from BPC Racing who qualified on pole with a laptime of 55.384 seconds, ahead of Chennai’s Nirmal Umashankar from M Sport. Aanjan Patodia of Pune was third while National Championship leader – Aaroh Ravindra could only manage fourth with a time 55.677 seconds, thanks to the ultra-competitive grid on the top. 


Page 2 of 74