The Worlds Favourite Playground

Monday, Feb 19th

Last update:12:40:27 PM GMT

You are here: Motorsport


Karthick Maruthi wins the Maruti Suzuki National Super League Championship 2016

User Rating: / 1

The 6th and final round of the Maruti Suzuki National Super League Championship concluded with the much awaited ‘Rally of Himachal’ in Shimla. Braving the biting cold and steep winding snow covered roads, Karthick Maruthi driving Vitara Brezza won the much coveted Maruti Suzuki National Super League Championship 2016. Sachin Singh also driving Vitara Brezza and Jagmeet Gill driving Maruti Suzuki S-Cross, won the second and third place respectively, with M.Musthafa being declared as the best navigator of the championship.

The Maruti Suzuki National Super League Championship, introduced to encourage rallying among the amateur motorsports enthusiasts, consisted of 6 TSD format rallies. The TSD rallies gave the rallyists a chance to chase their passion in one of the most epic rallying experiences, running across length and breadth of the country. Spread across the year, Maruti rally began from lush hills of Uttarakhand, revving its way to Goa in the Deccan Rally, creating ripples of enthusiasm in the most scenic Backwaters Rally, exploring some of the most pristine and unexplored landscapes in Mughal Rally, making its way to the land of rising Sun in the Rally of Arunachal and finally bringing the rally home in the silver snow covered mountains of Shimla in Rally of Himachal.


Alexander Rossi to Pilot No. 98 NAPA AUTO PARTS Honda For Select 2017 Events

User Rating: / 1

NAPA AUTO PARTS and Alexander Rossi drove into racing history by capturing the twin-checkers at the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500, and the pair will again join with Andretti Autosport in 2017. The seven-race, co-primary sponsorship will see the reigning Indy 500 champion take the wheel of Andretti’s No. 98 NAPA AUTO PARTS Honda starting at the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series season opener in St. Petersburg, Florida. Rossi will then carry NAPA Know How for races in Long Beach, Indianapolis, Road America, Watkins Glen and Sonoma.

“We are pleased to announce our continued partnership with one of the more iconic brands in all of motorsports, the Andretti brand” stated NAPA President, Dan Askey. “We are equally excited to partner with one of the rising stars in the sport in Alexander Rossi and proud to have Alexander representing NAPA both on and off the track. We were fortunate to come on board in May of 2016 becoming a part of history as we rode along with Alexander capturing the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500. Andretti Autosport remains one of the elite teams in the IndyCar Series and we look forward to what 2017 holds.”


Jehan Daruvala defends Lady Wigram Trophy

Jehan Daruvala representing the Sahara Force India Academy, achieved the rare distinction of successfully defending the Lady Wigram Trophy Title. The Mumbai based teenager had won the same trophy which is amongst New Zealand’s most prestigious races, in spectacular fashion last year, after starting 15th on the grid.  Jehan is the first racer since 1993 to successfully defend the trophy!

In race 2, earlier in the day, Jehan started fifth as per the reverse grid rules. A bad start by him meant he fell down the order to 8th. The 3.33 Ruapuna Circuit at Christchurch is immensely difficult to overtake and Jehan was unable to gain back his lost positions. On the penultimate lap, the racer behind Jehan made an opportunistic lunge in a bid to overtake Jehan. The move resulted in contact and Jehan’s right front wheel had extensive damage, forcing him to retire from the 15 lap race. The race was won by Thomas Randle of Australia.


Felipe Massa comes out of retirement to re-join Williams

Williams Martini Racing announced today that veteran driver Felipe Massa has agreed to re-join Williams on a one-year deal, coming out of retirement to replace Valtteri Bottas who the team has released to join Mercedes for the 2017 season.

Felipe will race for a fourth consecutive season with Williams, alongside Lance Stroll who will make his Formula One debut in the 2017 FIA Formula One World Championship.


Valtteri Bottas joins Mercedes from Williams

It's been 45 days since Nico Rosberg dropped the bombshell of his immediate retirement from Formula One. And it left the team with a conundrum: how to best fill the vacant seat alongside three-time champion Lewis Hamilton in order to defend the Constructors' Championship?

Following six weeks of detailed evaluation, deliberation and negotiation, the answer can now be confirmed officially: we signed Valtteri Bottas this morning. The 27-year-old native of Nastola, Finland has completed four seasons in Formula One with Williams, making 77 starts and scoring 9 career podiums so far. 


Sunderland, Peterhansel crowned Dakar Rally Champions

British motorcyclist Sam Sunderland (KTM) clinched his first Dakar Rally title, while Frenchman Stephane Peterhansel (Peugeot) narrowly held off countryman and Peugeot teammate Sebastian Loeb in the car race to win his 13th championship.

Sunderland came out on top with an overall time of 32:06:22, exactly 32 minutes ahead of Austria's Matthias Walkner and 35:40 in front of Spain's Gerard Farres Guell on Saturday.


Sebastien Loeb extends lead in Dakar Rally

Nine-time World rally champion Sebastien Loeb extended his overall lead in the Dakar Rally by winning the 10th stage in Argentina.

The 42-year-old Frenchman finished the 448km journey on Thursday from Chilecito to San Juan in four hours 54 minutes and 28 seconds, two minutes and 33 seconds ahead of compatriot and Peugeot teammate Cyril Despres.


Page 7 of 74