The Worlds Favourite Playground

Monday, Mar 27th

Last update:12:18:06 PM GMT

You are here: Motorsport


Ferrari competitive, but Mercedes' poor pit strategy decided Australian GP

Ferrari and its German driver Sebastian Vettel opted for a winning strategy on Sunday at the Australian Grand Prix, with Vettel managing to snatch the 43rd victory of his career.

The race was decided in the pit lanes, with Mercedes opting for a risky strategy by having United Kingdom's Lewis Hamilton come in early on lap 17 with a clear lead ahead of Vettel in second. Mercedes' gamble did not pay off as Vettel took the lead from Hamilton when the Brit emerged from the pit lane behind him, Bottas (also Mercedes), Finnish Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) and Dutch Max Verstappen (Red Bull).


Vettel wins Australian Grand Prix, Hamilton and Bottas complete the podium

Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel stormed to victory ahead of the UK's Lewis Hamilton and Finland's Valtteri Bottas at the Australian Grand Prix here on Sunday, giving the Italian team a second victory in 18 months. In a surprise win, Ferrari demonstrated that the team is now equipped to challenge Mercedes' recent dominance.

Sunday's result is Vettel's 43rd victory of his career, 18 months after his last win with Ferrari in September 2015 at the Singapore Grand Prix.


Hamilton takes Pole at 2017 Australian Grand Prix, Vettel competitive on the front row

Mercedes superstar Lewis Hamilton secured the 62nd pole position of his Formula One career in the qualifying session for the season's first Grand Prix, the Australian GP in Melbourne on Sunday.

Three-time world champion Hamilton posted a time of 1:22:188, which he secured in the final seconds of Q3, ahead of Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel and Hamilton's teammate Valtteri Bottas.


Race Calendar: 2017 Formula One Season

Following is the race schedule for Formula One 2017 Championship which starts in Melbourne on March 26:

March 26: Australia (Melbourne)

April 9: China (Shanghai)


Williams Appoints Paddy Lowe as Chief Technical Officer

Williams Grand Prix Holdings PLC (Ticker: WGF1) is pleased to announce the appointment of Paddy Lowe as Chief Technical Officer for the Williams Group.

Paddy will join Williams today, 16 March, and will take overall management responsibility for the engineering operation at Grove. Paddy will also join the company’s Board of Directors and take a shareholding in the company, underlining his passion and commitment to working with Claire Williams and Mike O’Driscoll to drive the Williams Group forward. 


Ali, Mustafa clinch Himalayan Drive 5 title

Unlike the serpentine mountain roads the rallyists traversed during the course of the five-day Biswa Bangla JK Tyre Himalayan Drive 5, the results had few twists and turns as favourites Ajgar Ali and Mohammed Mustafa won the title here on Thursday.

The reigning national Time Speed Distance (TSD) champions led from the first day and were on top on all three days barring the final day where they finished second to score over others as the marathon rally ended at Club Montana Vista next to Siliguri's City Centre.


Tata Motors T1 Prima Truck Racing meet at Buddh International Circuit

The fourth edition of the Tata Motors T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship will be held on March 19 at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC) in Greater Noida, it was announced on Monday.

Conducted under the aegis of FIA & FMSCI, the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship will feature Tata Prima trucks, built for the purpose.


Page 1 of 70

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »