The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, May 28th

Last update:05:30:02 PM GMT

You are here: Motorsport Motorsport News

Motorsport News

Fernando Alonso to start from 5th place at Indy 500

Spanish two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso will look to make history again when he competes as a rookie at Sunday's Indianapolis 500, a challenge that has recharged the competitive batteries of one of auto racing's greatest drivers.

Alonso will start fifth on the grid at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway after an impressive showing in last weekend's time trials, when the McLaren-Andretti Honda driver posted a four-lap average of 231.300 mph in the so-called Fast Nine Shootout.


Former Moto GP Champion Nicky Hayden dies age 35

American motorcycling champion Nicky Hayden has died from injuries he sustained in an accident on his road bike last week, the Maurizio Bufalini hospital in eastern Italian city of Cesena tweeted on Monday.

Hayden had been in intensive care with severe head and chest injuries after he was hit by a car while driving along a road near the Adriatic coastal resort of Rimini last Wednesday.


Rossi Qualifies on the Front Row for 101st Indy 500

One of the most exciting non-race weekends in motorsports is qualifying weekend at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. From the qualifying draw to the second-by-second weather changes, many different factors play into the lightning-fast speeds posted by some of the best race car drivers in the world.

Alexander Rossi, last year's rookie winner of the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500, was smack dab in the middle of the qualifying drama, finishing P3 and earning a spot in the illustrious front row of 33. 


Yamaha's Maverick Viñales wins French Moto GP

Spanish Movistar Yamaha rider Maverick Viñales won the French motorcycle Grand Prix on Sunday. Frenchman Johann Zarco (Yamaha YZR M 1) took second place and Spaniard Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda RC 213 V) came in third.

22-year-old Viñales finished with a time of 43:29.793, averaging 161.6 kph (about 100 mph).


Rossi P8 in tough IndyCar Grand Prix Battle

The extraordinary "month of May" kicked off this weekend with the IndyCar Grand Prix, running 85 laps on the road course inside the oval of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Despite some technical challenges throughout the weekend, Alexander Rossi hung in for a strong P8 in the talented 22-car field, collecting valuable points.

At the green flag Rossi had an excellent start, grabbing three spots and moving up to 6th position. “The start was really strong, but we chose the wrong downforce level on the car," said Rossi. "That was a pretty big difference with respect to tire wear during the latter half of each stint. This hurt our run up the charts and we had to settle for 8th."


Page 1 of 82

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »