The Worlds Favourite Playground

Monday, Jan 16th

Last update:12:07:07 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL


Kruger blasts Northern Cape into Africa T20 Cup Final

Patrick Kruger blasted seven sixes, including two in the Super Over, and seven fours to lead Northern Cape to a 13-run victory over North West at the Oudtshoorn Recreation Ground on Friday and a place in the final of the Africa T20 Cup.  They will now face Eastern Province in the decider on Saturday in a live televised game with a 13h30 start.

Northern Cape and North West tied with totals of 181 in the 20 overs available to each side before Northern Cape made 22 without loss in the Super Over with Diego Rosier also hitting a six off the bowling of Bjorn Fortuin.


Eastern Province cruise into Africa T20 Cup Final with easy win against Zimbabwe

Eastern Province cantered into the final of the Africa T20 Cup with a facile 76-run win over Zimbabwe in the first semi-final at the Oudtshoorn Recreation Ground today. The second semi-final will be played between Northern Cape and Seeff North West this afternoon.

The result was only in doubt for a short period when it looked as though Zimbabwe might limit their opponents to a gettable total in the region of 130 to 140 but once Solo Nqweni (22 not out off 8 balls, 2 fours and a six) and Brad Dolley boosted the target to 164 with an unbroken stand of 30 off 10 balls, it was always going to be a steep ask.


Zimbabwe face Eastern Province in Africa T20 Cup semi-final

The Zimbabwe Emerging XI side will face South Africa’s Eastern Province in an Africa T20 Cup semi-final scheduled for this Friday in the Western Cape town of Oudtshoorn.

Coach Stephen Mangongo will have six new players in his squad for the last-four assignment following the unavailability of the quartet of Ryan Murray, Jeremy Ives, George Banda and Rugare Magarira due to school commitments.


EP plan to play with 'no fear' in Africa T20 Cup finals weekend

South African teams have traditionally not had a good track record in high-octane playoff matches with the pressure often getting the better of them. Easten Province’s Sisanda Magala, though, believes his team will continue their “no fear” mindset in this weekend’s Africa T20 Cup finals weekend in Oudtshoorn.

Magala played a pivotal part in EP going unbeaten in this past weekend’s Pool D matches at Boland Park. The sturdy seamer picked up 1/40 in a tense three-run victory over Gauteng that set up the weekend for the coastal side. The 25-year-old showed that he could keep his nerve under intense pressure by closing out the final over with the Highveld side requiring 16 runs for victory, even after conceding two boundaries off his first three deliveries.


Mosehle bats Gauteng to narrow victory in Africa T20 Cup

Mangaliso Mosehle, captaining Gauteng for the first time, batted through the innings to guide his province to a five-wicket victory with three balls to spare over hosts Boland in the final Pool D match of the Africa T20 Cup at Boland Park today.

This results means that Gauteng finish second on the log behind winners Eastern Province and will be left ruing their three-run defeat to the latter in the opening pool match. Boland finished third with KwaZulu-Natal, one of last season’s semi-finalists, the wooden spoonists.


Eastern Province sail through to Africa T20 Cup Finals weekend

Eastern Province made short work of wrapping up Pool D at the Africa T20 Championship at Boland Park on Sunday when they claimed a bonus point win by 55 runs over KwaZulu-Natal.

They finished top of the log with 13 points from their unbeaten weekend, leaving Gauteng and Boland to fight for the prestige of being runner-up in this afternoon’s match.


Eastern Province poised for Pool D victory in Africa T20 Cup

Eastern Province got one foot into the finals weekend of the Africa T20 Cup after they beat hosts Boland by 6 wickets with 7 balls to spare at Boland Park on Saturday to become the only unbeaten team in Pool D.

They are also the only team in control of their own destiny going into the final round of matches on Sunday. If they beat KwaZulu-Natal tomorrow then there is nothing any of the other teams can do to stop them. If they do come unstuck then both Boland and Gauteng would come into the picture when they play one another. A victory for Gauteng would then see them reach the finals weekend following their bonus point win today but Boland would have to win with a bonus point to get through as Eastern Province’s victory over Boland today takes precedence over run rate.


Adams, Botha clinch nail-biter for Boland in Africa T20 Cup

Ferisco Adams played the cameo innings of his life to get Boland across the line with two balls to spare for a four-wicket victory over KwaZulu-Natal in the second Pool D match in the Africa T20 Cup at Paarl on Friday.

It brought the curtain down on an excellent first day which produced two victories that went down to the wire with Eastern Province first beating Gauteng by three runs before the home side won their match. 


Bonus point win puts Gauteng back into contention in Africa T20 Cup

Gauteng put Friday’s narrow defeat against Eastern Province behind them and totally outplayed KwaZulu-Natal for an eight-wicket bonus point victory on the second day of the Africa T20 Cup Pool D play-offs.

The result puts Gauteng right back into contention with 5 points and they will almost certainly be hoping for a Boland win over Eastern Province in this afternoon’s late match. Such a result would put the hosts on 8 points and turn Sunday’s final match between Boland and Gauteng into a pool decider. If Eastern Province win today then Gauteng will be looking to KZN to do them a favour.


Page 8 of 80