The Worlds Favourite Playground

Thursday, Jan 17th

Last update:09:55:47 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket


Pakistan-Australia ready to battle in T20 mode

younus_haddin.jpgPakistan captain Younus Khan and Australia's Brad Haddin moved into Twenty20 mode yesterday coming face to face with the ICC World Twenty20 2009 trophy in Dubai.

Tomorrow, the two teams will go head-to-head in what will be their final Twenty20 International (T20I) before this summer's event and the players were suitably impressed by the trophy that they could be lifting on 21 June in England.

The game is of special significance to Australian fast bowler Brett Lee, who hasn't played an international math since Boxing Day. Australia have a decent 3-2 record in T20 internationals this year, while Pakistan are slightly more impressive having won 4 of the 5 games they played in 2008. Pakistan are yet to play a T20 game t


Richard Hadlee inducted into Hall of fame

Legendary all-rounder Sir Richard Hadlee was formally inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame during the lunch interval of the third and final Test between New Zealand and India at Basin Reserve, Wellington on Friday.

The 57-year-old from Christchurch, who was appointed as a Member of British Empire (MBE) in 1981 and knighted in 1990, received his commemorative cap from ICC President David Morgan as ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat looked on.

After the ceremony Hadlee said: "Obviously, I am delighted. I have been fortunate enough during my life in cricket to be acknowledged in so many different ways and they are all very special in their own rights.

"But when you are one of the 55 in the history of the game that goes back to the 1800s through to the 20th century and when you look at some of the players who have also been inducted, to

Champions League - Meet the Teams

logo_cl.jpgThe much awaited Champions League Twenty-20 is now just over a month away, and the excitement is building up every day. Come December 3rd, all eyes will be glued to see whether this new format works or not. With the best Twenty-20 teams from all over the world locking horns for the first time, the sure shot winner will be the audiences who will be entertained to the core. Now let us take a closer look at the 8 participating teams. They include the Rajasthan Royals & the Chennai Super Kings from India, then the Victoria Bushrangers & the Western Warriors representing Australia. The South Africans also have their two top teams, the Titans and the Dolphins. One team each will represent Pakistan and England i.e. Sialkot Stalli


Champions League T20: Let the party begin

lalit.jpgThe brain child of Lalit Modi, the Champions League of Twenty 20 cricket is officially off and running. The glitz and glamour of freestyle cricket is going to take a new dimension this December, when 8 teams from all over the world, battle it out to become the Twenty 20 champions of the world. Starting the 3rd of December the top two Twenty 20 teams from India, Australia, South Africa along with the champions from Pakistan and England will be seen battling it out with each other. This is the first time that champions from all over the world will lock horns and that too for whooping prize money of $6 million. The fast forward version of cricket will once again be in the limelight with the entire cricketing fraternity watching in anticipation. Thi

Page 401 of 401