The Worlds Favourite Playground

Saturday, Dec 15th

Last update:09:55:47 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket


WG Grace inducted into Cricket Hall of Fame

the_graces.jpgOne of the most recognizable faces in cricket, WG Grace, was formally inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame before the start of the fourth ODI between England and Australia at Lord's on Saturday. The Hall of Fame, run in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA), recognises some of the truly great players from cricket's long and illustrious history.

A commemorative cap was presented to Grace's great, great grandson, Dominic and his son George, by the International Cricket Council (ICC) President David Morgan, ICC Director and England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) Chairman Giles Clarke and Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) Chief Executive Keith Bradshaw.

Grace's statistics are enough to


Champions League T20 Final Squads announced


The 12 teams participating in the inaugural Champions Leagye T20 cut their squads to the permitted size of 15 today, and a quick glance at the players selected, and those that failed to make the cut shows the quality that will grace the tournament come October.

The teams are brimming with international stars, with the likes of Graeme Smith, Virender Sehwag, Brett Lee, Brendon McCullum, Paul Collingwood and Dwayne Bravo among those who will step on to domestic cricket's biggest stage when the tournament starts on October 8. The absentees, whether due to injury, opting not to play or well just deemed not good enough to be selected is also a collection of who's who, and includes Michael Clarke, Kevin Pietersen and Gl


New Zealand sweep Sri Lanka in T20 Series


New Zealand delivered the perfect repost to their Test Series drubbing by repaying the favour in kind as they completed a clean sweep of the Twenty20 Internationals against Sri Lanka with a convincing 22-run win at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

From the minute Daniel Vettori won the toss and elected to bat it was one-way traffic with New Zealand putting in an all-round team performance to take out the series 2-0.

Openers Brendon McCullum and Jesse Ryder got the team off to a flyer, blasting 84 for the first wicket including one 19-run over off Lasith Malinga.

Sri Lankan Captain Kumar Sangakkarra had no answers to the onslaught, using six bowlers in the first ten overs until Sanat


New Zealand steal an unlikely win against Sri Lanka

taylor_sanga.jpgNew Zealand scraped through to an enterprising win in the first T20 international against the hosts, Sri Lanka. The 3 run margin in the end was perhaps a testimony to the close nature of the match. At 64 for 2 at the end of the first six overs and with only 78 more runs to get off 84 balls, all the smart money was on Lanka to emerge as the victorious side. But Daniel Vettori had other ideas. The Kiwi skipper led his team from the front and ensured that the Lankans had to fight for every run. With Shane Bond making an inspired comeback - after being taken to the cleaners by Dilshan during his whirlwind innings of 57 from just 28 balls - and Vettori at his crafty best, the inexperienced Lankan middle order collapsed under the pre


England Australia T20 match 'rained out'


After an enthralling Ashes series it was time for the ‘slam-bang' version of cricket to be contested by the two old foes - England (still in the celebratory mode because of their historic Ashes win barely a week ago) and Australia (a hurt Australia, to be precise). Old Trafford was the host to the first T20 International between the two sides. However, contrary to expectations, the match turned out to be a damp squib; courtesy the rain gods. Australia had batted first and posted up a competitive total of 145 in their 20 overs on a pitch which wasn't ideally suited to the shortest format of the game. Australia then had the English batsmen on the mat at 4 for two in 1.1 overs when the rain Gods decided to have


Players to choose sides in Champions League T20

ipl_final_pic3.jpgWith the imminent naming of the initial 20-player squads for the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20), the CLT20 Governing Council has today clarified the rules relating to players who have qualified for multiple teams.

A number of players who are scheduled to compete in the CLT20 have qualified to compete for multiple teams and will face a tough decision as the final squad deadline looms.

Under CLT20 rules, provided a player qualifies for more than one team, all those qualifying teams can nominate that player.

If the player then decides to play for an 'away' team rather than his 'home' team (the team from the country he is eligible to represent in international cricket), the 'away' team must pay US$200,000


Afridi captains Pakistan to thumping win

afridi_and_gul.jpgShahid Afridi's debut as captain was a dream affair for the affable Pathan as he led his team from the front, first with the bat and then with the ball, to win the one-off T20 International against hosts Sri Lanka. The victory margin was an emphatic 52 runs and was a clear indication of Pakistan's supremacy over the home side in this format of the game.

The one day series was won by Sri Lanka comprehensively and Pakistan's dominant showing in the last two matches was little more than a consolation. Still the Pakistani side had momentum on their side and with the mercurial Shahid Afridi at the helm of the affairs (Afridi was appointed the captain of Pakistan T20 team for just this game), Pakistan were the tea


Page 397 of 401