The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, Oct 26th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Home


Afghanistan recorded a nine-wicket victory over Nepal in an encounter reduced to seven overs a side on day eight of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013 (WT20Q) at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Friday. In other Group B matches, an unbeaten 67 by Matt Machan saw Scotland defeat Group B leader Netherlands by 15 runs, while rain forced the match between Papua New Guinea and Denmark to be abandoned without a ball being bowled.

In Group A, Ireland defeated Uganda by 48 runs, Hong Kong outclassed the USA by 67 runs and the UAE defeated the Canada by 36 runs.

Read more...  

Next year's Caribbean Twenty20 Tournament, to be staged from Sunday, January 6 to Sunday, January 20 in Trinidad and St. Lucia, will be played under a new format. The marquee, annual West Indies Cricket Board tournament will feature the seven regional teams – Barbados, Combined Campuses & Colleges, Guyana, Jamaica, Leeward Islands, reigning champions Trinidad & Tobago, and Windward Islands – in 23 matches.

The seven regional teams will contest a non-elimination, preliminary competition, with a new route for the teams to reach the Grand Final on Sunday, January 20 at the Beausejour Cricket Ground in St. Lucia.

Read more...  

chennai_ipl2The match between Yorkshire Carnegie and the Chennai Super Kings may have been officially classified as a dead rubber, but for the professional cricketers taking the field there was plenty of pride at stake. The Super Kings won the toss and put Yorkshire in to bat under overcast conditions at Kingsmead, Durban, and the English side did well to reach a competitive 140-6 in their 20 overs on the back of yet another fantastic half-century from Gary Ballance. The left-hander smashed 5 sixes on his way to 58 as Yorkshire made the most of Chennai's decision to field 4 specialist bowlers. Chennai struggled briefly in their chase, but their middle order came to the party with Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni hitting contrasting 31s while S Badrinath made a match winning 47 to guide Chennai to victory.

MS Dhoni had decided to give himself a bit of a breather and the Super Kings were captained by Suresh Raina, while Wriddhiman Saha had taken over wicketkeeping duties, relegating the Indian captain to fine leg for long periods of the game. The absence of his pads also meant that Dhoni probably fancied having a bit of a bowl as well, and that did prove to be the case.

Read more...  

Needing a win to keep their semi-final hopes alive, the Perth Scorchers struggled in the early contest between bat and ball, making a paltry 121-5 in 20 overs having been put into bat on a challenging wicket. Shaun Marsh and Simon Katich contributed patchy 30s to lead the Scorchers' cause, while Morne Morkel and Ajit Agarkar shared the 5 wickets to fall between them, with exemplary economy rates to boot. Delhi struggled in their chase, losing wickets at regular intervals to keep the game very much alive as a contest. Virender Sehwag played a cautious hand, contributing 52 to the Delhi cause, but fell at a crucial stage with Delhi still 26 shy of victory. Ajit Agarkar though proved to be the hero with the bat too, striking an unbeaten 11 from 7 balls to take Delhi over the line in the final over with 3 wickets to spare.

Mahela Jayawardene had no hesitation in putting the Scorchers in on another overcast day in Newlands, and the Delhi pace attack made the most of the conditions with Morne Morkel removing Herschelle Gibbs for 6 in just the second over.

Read more...  

The Champions League Twenty20 Technical Committee has approved changes to the Chennai Super Kings, UVA Next and Yorkshire squads.

For the Chennai Super Kings, both Dwayne Bravo and Anirudh Srikkanth have been forced out of the tournament due to injuries. Bravo is suffering from a thigh strain and will be replaced by Sri Lankan bowler, Nuwan Kulasakera.

Srikkanth sustained a fall in a domestic cricket match last week and will be out of action for 6 weeks following a fracture to his right clavicle. He's place in the CSK squad will be taken by Shadab Jakati, a left arm spinner who previously played for CSK when the IPL was held in South Africa in 2009.

Read more...  

Australian all-rounder Shane Watson was today named as the player of the tournament at the conclusion of the ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 at R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. Watson was the unanimous choice of the select group of experts following his sensational form that helped guide his side to the semi-final stage of the tournament before it was knocked out by West Indies. The 31-year-old batted six innings in the tournament, scoring a total of 249 runs at an average of 49.80.

He also took 11 wickets at an average of 16.00 and an economy-rate of 7.33 with his extremely useful medium pace bowling.

Read more...  

England captain and opening batter Charlotte Edwards was today named the player of the tournament at the conclusion of the ICC Women's World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 at R.Premadasa Stadium.

Read more...  

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »
Powered by Tags for Joomla