The Worlds Favourite Playground

Thursday, Jun 22nd

Last update:11:59:31 AM GMT

You are here: Home


The Buildcorp Wallaroos have gone down to Canada 45-5 in their final match of the International Women’s Rugby Series in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Canadians outscored the Australians seven tries to one, with Queensland-based prop Hilisha Samoa scoring Australia’s only try at the beginning of the second half.

Despite the defeat, the match was an important opportunity for many players to stake their claim for World Cup selection, with nine changes having been made to the Wallaroos line-up after the recent match against New Zealand.

Read more...  

Pace spearhead Mitchell Starc and left-arm spinner Steve O'Keefe were the two notable omissions from the 13-member Australia side that will tour Bangladesh for a two-Test cricket rubber in August, Cricket Australia (CA) announced on Friday.

Starc, who was ruled out of the second half of the India tour with a fractured foot, returned for Australia's failed ICC Champions Trophy campaign. But the left-armer's injury has not fully healed and he was subsequently ordered rest to be fit for the crucial Ashes campaign, starting November 23.

Read more...  

Brazil thrashed Australia 4-0 in a football friendly on Tuesday - ahead of the FIFA Confederations Cup beginning in Russia from June 17.

It seemed as if coach Tite's team, which lost to Argentina 1-0 on Friday, had no time to lose. Diego Souza scored the first of his brace just 10 seconds into the first half from a low shot from inside the area.

Read more...  

India captain Virat Kohli has reclaimed the top batting spot, while Australia’s pace ace Josh Hazlewood has achieved the number-one position in the bowlers’ rankings for the first time in his career in the latest ICC ODI Player Rankings, which were released on Tuesday morning following the conclusion of the last round of league matches in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

Kohli had entered the tournament 22 points behind number-one ranked AB de Villiers of South Africa (who had been No.1 since 25 February 2017) and 19 points behind Australia’s David Warner. However, following knocks of 81 not out against Pakistan and 76 not out against South Africa, he has leapfrogged de Villiers and Warner into the number-spot.

Read more...  

Wallaroos Head Coach Paul Verrell has named a new look side ahead of the team’s second Test of the International Women’s Rugby Series on Tuesday 12 June at 12:45pm AEST, where they will face New Zealand’s Black Ferns at Christchurch’s Rugby Park.

A total of eight changes have been made to the starting XV that ran out against England in Wellington.

Read more...  

England on Saturday sent Australia packing, knocking them out the Champions Trophy after winning a rain marred match via the Duckworth-Lewis (D/L) method - a result that also helped Bangladesh secure a place in the semi-finals. Ben Stokes (102 not out) and Eoin Morgan (87) helped England defeat Australia by 40 runs as the latter failed to progress from the Group A.

Put in to bat by England, who had already reached the semi-finals, Australia posted 277/9, thanks to Travis Head (91 not out), Aaron Finch (68) and skipper Steve Smith (56). During the chase, Stokes and Morgan shared 159-run fourth-wicket stand to help England recover from 35/3.

Read more...  

The Wallabies have started their 2017 campaign in strong fashion with a 37-14 victory over Fiji in an entertaining clash at AAMI Park, Melbourne on Saturday afternoon. The flying Fijians were at their attacking best, but a committed Wallabies side kept them at bay in the seven-try spectacle.

Wallabies fliers Israel Folau and Henry Speight both registered a try-scoring double, as the Aussies produced some brilliant attack of their own to kick of the international season in style.

Read more...  

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »
Powered by Tags for Joomla