The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, Jul 07th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Home


Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), the Pepsi IPL 2014 winners, will commence their defence of the title, on home turf, on 8 April 2015. The opening encounter of the Pepsi IPL 2015 will see them play Mumbai Indians, winners of the 2013 season, at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata, on 8th April 2015.

A total of 60 matches (including the 4 playoffs) will be played over a period of 47 days, in the eighth season of the tournament that has captured the imagination of cricket-lovers across the world.

Read more...  

The reigning Indian Premier League champions, the Mumbai Indians, were crowned the Champions League T20 winners today with a hard earned 33 run win over a combative Rajasthan Royals outfit that failed to fire when the going got tough. All the pre-match hype was about Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar, but once the action got underway it was all about the cricket being played on the pitch.

The Royals dominated the first 10 overs of each innings, but Mumbai came back well with the bat and the ball to script a win that most would have expected given their considerably greater budgets and depth of talent.

Read more...  

It's going to be Sachin vs Rahul in the final of the Champions League T20 as the IPL Champions, Mumbai Indians, set up a dream finale with the Rajasthan Royals at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi with a slightly nervy 6 wicket win against a Trinidad & Tobago side which continued to punch above their weight in this tournament.

Deprived of stars like Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo and Kevon Cooper, who would otherwise form the cornerstone of their middle order, Trinidad & Tobago continued to produce some competitive cricket and took their semi-final against the cash rich Mumbai Indians down to the final over.

Read more...  

The Mumbai Indians made sure that there are three IPL teams going through to the semi-finals of the Champions League T20, recording a thumping 6 wicket win over the Perth Scorchers in Delhi on Wednesday, to knock the unlucky Otago Volts out of the tournament on net run rate. Mumbai had the advantage of playing a day after the Volts, and as a result knew exactly what they needed to do to qualify for the final four.

The Indians won the toss and opted to put their money on their batsmen chasing down whatever target Perth set them inside 14.2 overs to book their place in the semi-finals. The Scorchers did reasonably well to finish at 149-6 from their 20 overs despite a slow start with Sam Whiteman smashing an unbeaten 51 from 32 balls to post a decent target on the board. Nathan Coulter-Nile once again excelled for Mumbai, taking 3-19 from his 4 overs, while Pragyan Ojha chipped in with 2 wickets too.

Read more...  

The Highveld Lions lost their second successive match at the Champions League T20 on Friday evening to leave their chances of progressing to the semi-final round out of their hands. The Mumbai Indians beat them by seven wickets which means that they only have two points after three matches. Their final group match is against New Zealand’s Otago Volts on Sunday and, even if they win that, they may still not finish in the top two.

They can no longer catch the log-leading Rajasthan Royals while both the Mumbai Indians and the Otago Volts are currently four points ahead of them.

Read more...  

The Rajasthan Royals kicked off the 2013 edition of the Champions League T20 with a comfortable 7 wicket win over the IPL Champions Mumbai Indians in Jaipur today.

In a game which really failed to excite, Mumbai battled their way to 142-7 from their 20 overs after the Royals made the most of some friendly bowling conditions. Vikramjeet Malik took 3-24 to give the Royals an outstanding start to the game as the Indians slipped to 43-4 in the 9th over with Sachin Tendulkar the third of the early quartet to fall for 15.

Read more...  

Mumbai Indians, the IPL 2013 winners, will play Rajasthan Royals, who finished third in the same competition, in the inaugural Group Stage match of the CLT20 2013, on Saturday, 21 September 2013. The game will be played at Jaipur’s Sawai Man Singh Stadium, the home venue of the Rajasthan Royals.

The CLT20 2013 final will be played on Sunday, 6 October 2013, at the Ferozeshah Kotla Ground, Delhi, which hosted Qualifier 1 and the Eliminator in the IPL 2013. The Kotla will also host the second semi-final of the tournament, on Saturday, 5 October 2013. The first semi-final will be played at Jaipur on Friday, 4 October 2013.

Read more...  

Powered by Tags for Joomla