The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, Nov 30th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Home


A return to the Feroz Shah Kotla proved productive for the Delhi Daredevils, who crushed the Kings XI Punjab by 9 wickets with more than 6 overs to spare to leave Preity Zinta's side firmly rooted to the bottom of the Indian Premier League points table.

The Daredevils won a good toss on home turf and wasted little time in reducing the Kings XI to an appalling 10-4 inside the fourth over with the returning Zaheer Khan doing some early damage, removing both of Punjab's openers Virender Sehwag and Manan Vohra for a run each.

Read more...  

It was a disappointing Sunday for the fans of the Indian Premier League as a washout in Kolkata was followed by an early knockout in Delhi with the Royal Challengers Bangalore wiping the floor with the Daredevils in a no-contest.

The Royal Challengers won the toss and chose to send the Delhi Daredevils in, a fantastic decision with the benefit of hindsight.

Read more...  

Being on the path of victory doesn't appear to have been destined for the Delhi Daredevils for too long as the reigning IPL champions the Kolkata Knight Riders handed the Daredevils a heavy 6 wicket defeat at the Feroz Shah Kotla, with the Delhi franchise now losing 9 matches in a row on home turf.

The Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and decided to invite Delhi to make first use of a pitch that skipper Gautam Gambhir knows better than the back of his hand. Another Delhi boy in Kolkata clothing, Umesh Yadav excelled with the ball, taking 2-18 in his 4 overs, and was helped by an ex-Daredevil in Morne Morkel, who also chipped in with two wickets. Piyush Chawla meanwhile also picked up a couple of wickets, and in doing so joined the growing 100 wicket club in the IPL.

Manoj Tiwary top scored for the Daredevils, making 32, while Indian youth prospect Shreyas Iyer made 31. Many of the other Delhi batsmen too got starts, but no one went on to make a big score. Delhi were ultimately restricted to 146-8, a mediocre score by any standards.

Gautam Gambhir then took on the mantle of chasing down the runs himself, top scoring with 60 and fell in the penultimate over of the game with Kolkata just 3 runs shy of victory. Yusuf Pathan made another excellent contribution, remaining unbeaten on 40, while Surya Kumar Yadav once again provided some fireworks, chipping in with 24 from 16 balls.

The win takes Kolkata Knight Riders to 6 points, level with the Chennai Super Kings, who have also won 3 games so far this season, and are sitting in 2nd place in the standings.

Mini Scorecard:

Delhi Daredevils 146/8 (20 overs, 7.30rpo)

M Tiwary 32 (28) U Yadav 2-18 (4)

S Iyer 31 (24) P Chawla 2-27 (4)

Kolkata Knight Riders 147/4 (18.1 overs, 8.09rpo)

G Gambhir 60 (48) D Muthuswami 2-18 (3)

Y Pathan 40 (26) N Coulter-Nile 1-30 (4)

Kolkata Knight Riders win by 6 wickets

{fcomment id=42252}


The tables appear to have genuinely turned in favour of the Delhi Daredevils, as the side which had lost 11 matches in a row coming into this week, just picked up its second win on the bounce in yet another thrilling contest at Vizag.

Having won the toss and decided to bat first, the Delhi Daredevils posted a slightly under par total of 167-4 in their 20 overs with 20 year old opener Shreyas Iyer top scoring with 60 from just 40 balls, whilst getting excellent support from skipper JP Duminy who chipped in with 54 from 41 balls.

Read more...  

Fresh from their first win of the season, the Delhi Daredevils travel to Vizag today to take on the Sunrisers Hyderabad, who could themselves do with a win.

The flip of the coin went the way of the Daredevils, who decided to bat first in the heat and make the Sunrisers sweat a little more in the afternoon kick-off.

The Daredevils opted to stick with their winning combination for this game, while the Sunrisers have made one big change to their side, giving Dale Steyn his first outing of the season with Trent Boult  sitting out.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: D Warner (c), S Dhawan, KL Rahul, N Ojha (wk), E Morgan, R Bopara, A Reddy, K Sharma, P Kumar, B Kumar, D Steyn

Delhi Daredevils: M Agarwal, S Iyer, JP Duminy (c), Y Singh, A Mathews, M Tiwary, K Jadhav (wk), N Coulter-Nile, A Mishra, I Tahir, D Muthuswami


The Delhi Daredevils finally brought an end to their brutal losing streak, stopping it at 11 games, after beating the Kings XI Punjab by 5 wickets with 1 ball to spare in an entertaining contest in Pune.

Punjab won the toss and decided to bat first. Their openers - Virender Sehwag and Murali Vijay - struggled against the raw pace of Nathan Coulter-Nile, but enjoyed immense freedom at the other end to express themselves. Coulter-Nile conceded 2 runs from the first 11 balls he bowled, but Vijay (19) and Sehwag (47) picked up enough runs off Dominic Muthuswami and Angelo Mathews to ensure that the scoreboard ticked over at a decent rate.

Read more...  

Lady luck continues to reside as far away from the Delhi Daredevils' camp as possible as the home side suffered their 2nd straight last ball defeat in this season's IPL and were also as a result condemned to an 11th loss in a row, going all the way back to last season.

The Rajasthan Royals won the toss and opted to chase in the 4pm kick-off at the Feroz Shah Kotla. The Delhi team had three changes with allrounder Angelo Mathews replacing Albie Morkel, who came within a run of winning the last game for the Daredevils. Additionally, Jaydev Unadkat and Manoj Tiwary came in for CM Gautam and Domnic Muthuswami. Gautam sitting out meant that Delhi used a part-time keeper in Kedar Jadhav behind the stumps. The Rajasthan Royals meanwhile were unchanged, which meant no Shane Watson in this game either.

Read more...  

Powered by Tags for Joomla