The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Mar 29th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Others Rugby Walsh names first Aussie Men's Sevens Squad

Walsh names first Aussie Men's Sevens Squad

User Rating: / 0

Australian Men’s Sevens Head Coach, Tim Walsh has named his first squad for the HSBC Sevens World Series as head of the Men’s program for round eight in Singapore.

Walsh has made three changes from the side that finished in fifth at the Commonwealth Games earlier this month, with Jeral Skelton, Lachie Miller and Nick Price coming into the squad.


Australia (89) currently sits in fifth position on the HSBC Sevens World Series ladder behind Argentina (90), New Zealand (107), Fiji (123) and South Africa (126).

Earning his second cap for Australia after making his debut in Hong Kong is Lachlan Miller, who hails from Coffs Harbour on the NSW North Coast.

Australia will have to face the Commonwealth Games Gold Medallists, New Zealand in Pool D alongside Wales and Scotland.

Australian Men’s Sevens Head Coach, Tim Walsh said: “It’s been a quick turnaround between finishing with the Women’s program to starting in my new role.

“Diving right in is a great way to start, the sooner I can shape and influence the team with my leadership style the better.

“The squad has been enthusiastic and vocal about wanting to improve and to be consistently on the podium especially after finishing eighth at the Olympics, fifth on the Gold Coast and currently fifth on the World Series.

“Everything has its challenges and that is what gives us purpose. I enjoy the hard work, love this game and cannot wait for the future with this team."

Australia kicks off it’s campaign in Singapore on Saturday April 28 at 1.00pm AEST against Scotland.

The Squad

1. Jeral Skelton, 4 caps, Brothers

2. Tom Connor, 5 caps, Warringah

3. Sam Myers, 34 caps, Norths (Sydney)

4. Lachlan Miller, 1 cap, Southern Cross University (Coffs Harbour)

5. Nicky Price, 2 caps, Southern Districts

6. John Porch, 17 caps, Norths (Sydney)

7. Tim Anstee, 17 caps, Eastwood

8. Jesse Parahi (c), 43 caps, Norths (Sydney)

9. Brandon Quinn, 7 caps, Gordon

10. Ben O’Donnell, 7 caps, Randwick

11. Maurice Longbottom, 5 caps, Lloyd McDermott Rugby Development Team

12.Lachlan Anderson, 14 caps, Eastwood

13. Dylan Pietsch, 9 caps, Randwick

Australia Men’s Sevens Fixtures, Singapore:

Saturday 28 April

Australia v Scotland, 1.00pm AEST

Australia v New Zealand, 4.50pm AEST

Australia v Wales, 7.54pm AEST