The Worlds Favourite Playground

Monday, Oct 15th

Last update:03:24:45 PM GMT

You are here: Home News Bytes ACT/NSW Country claim 50-over crown; teams named for inaugural WBBL Exhibition match

ACT/NSW Country claim 50-over crown; teams named for inaugural WBBL Exhibition match

User Rating: / 0

ACT/NSW Country has claimed the 50-over title at the 2017-18 Under 18 National Championships after defeating New South Wales Metro by one wicket in a nail-biting Final in Canberra today.

In a low scoring affair, NSW Metro won the toss and elected to bat but it was ACT/NSW Country who made all the early running with Ellie Dalgarno-Fixter (4-21) claiming the first two wickets of the match.

NSW Metro's batters managed to occupy the crease but tidy bowling from ACT/NSW Country meant runs were hard to come by, with only Maddy Darke (16), Kate Barry (19) and Angelina Genford (16) reaching double figures.

Dalgarno-Fixter continued to impress with the ball, claiming two more wickets to finish with four for the match as NSW Metro was bowled out for 84.

ACT/NSW Country made a nervous start in reply, losing three early wickets to be 3-11 before Matilda Lugg (17) and Katelyn Beaumont (23) steadied the ship.

The wickets continued to fall as NSW Metro closed in on an unlikely victory, however a defiant 17 from Abby Taylor proved to be the difference, with ACT/NSW Country reaching the target with just over two overs to spare.

Dalgarno – Fixter's effort was enough to see her named Player of the Final having also finished the Championships as leading wicket-taker, while leading run-scorer Annabel Sutherland was named Player of the Championships.

In the remaining matches a patient half-century from Sutherland (55) helped Victoria secure a third-place finish after defeating the Cricket Australia XI by six wickets, while Queensland proved too good for Tasmania in their play-off for fifth spot and South Australia edged out Western Australia.

For the first time, a total of 24 players were selected from the Championships to take part in an Under 18 WBBL Exhibition match on 28 January at the MCG following the Rebel Women's Big Bash League clash between the Melbourne Stars and Hobart Hurricanes.

The group will be separated over the coming weeks into the Lanning XII and Perry XII, named after current Australian cricketers Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry, with the occasion to showcase the most outstanding performers from the 2017-18 Under 18 National Championships.

The 24 players selected are:

Isabelle Afaras (NSW Metro)

Tegan Brett (Victoria)

Darcie Brown (CA XI / South Australia)

Stella Campbell (NSW Metro)

Rachel Church (South Australia)

Lucy Cripps (CAXI / Victoria)

Maddy Darke (NSW Metro)

Hannah Darlington (NSW Metro)

Emma De Broughe (South Australia)

Josephine Dooley (Queensland)

Nicole Faltum (Victoria)

Zoe Griffiths (Victoria)

Saskia Horley (NSW Metro)

Renee Irvine (Queensland)

Ashlee King (Western Australia)

Emma Mannix-Geeves (Tasmania)

Erika Quinn (Victoria)

Hayley Silver-Holmes (NSW Metro)

Courtney Sippel (Queensland)

Annabel Sutherland (Victoria)

Rachel Trenaman (ACT/NSW Country)

Courtney Webb (Tasmania)

Rebecca West (Western Australia)

Tahlia Wilson (ACT/NSW Country)