The Worlds Favourite Playground

Monday, Oct 15th

Last update:03:24:45 PM GMT

You are here: Golf Golf News Chawrasia leads the way at Hong Kong Open

Chawrasia leads the way at Hong Kong Open

User Rating: / 0

India’s S.S.P. Chawrasia took the early honours by carding a five-under-par 65 to take the first round lead at the UBS Hong Kong Open on Thursday.

The six-time Asian Tour winner leads by one over England’s Matthew Fitzpatrick and compatriot Shubhankar Sharma after overcoming the tricky windy conditions at the Hong Kong Golf Club in the morning. 

Starting on the back-nine 11, Chawrasia birdied holes 11, 13, 16 and 18. He showed his accuracy again when his approach at the par five third landed within four feet of the hole where he would birdie again to move to five-under.

The Indian dropped a shot on five but recovered quickly with another birdie on nine to stay ahead of the chasing pack at the US$2 million event.

Fresh from his maiden Asian Tour win in the Philippines a fortnight ago, Korean-American Micah Lauren Shin continued to show his good form when he returned with a 67 to take a share of fourth place that includes Thailand’s Poom Saksansin and Philippines’ Angelo Que.

Malaysia’s Danny Chia also ensured a strong Asian Tour presence atop the leaderboard when he returned with a 68 to trail Chawrasia by three shots in tied-11th place that included Major winner Justin Rose of England.

Leading scores after round 1:


66 - Matthew FITZPATRICK (ENG), Shubhankar SHARMA (IND).

67 - Thomas DETRY (BEL), Keith HORNE (RSA), Angelo QUE (PHI), Micah Lauren SHIN (USA), Jamie DONALDSON (WAL), Poom SAKSANSIN (THA), Marcus KINHULT (SWE).

68 - Julian SURI (USA), Tommy FLEETWOOD (ENG), Thongchai JAIDEE (THA), Danny CHIA (MAS), Justin ROSE (ENG), LI Haotong (CHN), Terry PILKADARIS (AUS), Wade ORMSBY (AUS).

69 - Joakim LAGERGREN (SWE), Thomas AIKEN (RSA), Robert ROCK (ENG), Sam BRAZEL (AUS), Gavin GREEN (MAS), Rafa CABRERA BELLO (ESP), Gregory HAVRET (FRA), LIN Wen-tang (TPE), Harold VARNER III (USA), Oliver FARR (WAL), Alexander BJORK (SWE), Sergio GARCIA (ESP), Khalin JOSHI (IND), Sean CROCKER (USA), Yikeun CHANG (KOR), Jinho CHOI (KOR).

70 - Shiv KAPUR (IND), Ben LEONG (MAS), Danthai BOONMA (THA), Sutijet KOORATANAPISAN (THA), Marcus FRASER (AUS), Paul PETERSON (USA), Ricardo GOUVEIA (POR), Adilson DA SILVA (BRA), Kiradech APHIBARNRAT (THA), Miguel Angel JIMENEZ (ESP), Miguel TABUENA (PHI), Siddikur RAHMAN (BAN).

71 - Chris HANSON (ENG), Chase KOEPKA (USA), James MORRISON (ENG), Ryan EVANS (ENG), Carlos PIGEM (ESP), Dylan FRITTELLI (RSA), Chris PAISLEY (ENG), Edoardo MOLINARI (ITA), Todd SINNOTT (AUS), Erik VAN ROOYEN (RSA), LIANG Wenchong (CHN), Paul WARING (ENG), Suradit YONGCHAROENCHAI (THA), Jeunghun WANG (KOR), Jbe KRUGER (RSA), Paul DUNNE (IRL), Scott VINCENT (ZIM), Phachara KHONGWATMAI (THA), Natipong SRITHONG (THA), Ashley CHESTERS (ENG), Bradley NEIL (SCO), Rashid KHAN (IND), Clement SORDET (FRA).