The Worlds Favourite Playground

Monday, Dec 17th

Last update:09:55:47 AM GMT

You are here: Golf Golf News Bhullar grabs a share of the lead at Macao Open

Bhullar grabs a share of the lead at Macao Open

User Rating: / 0

India’s Gaganjeet Bhullar put up an outstanding display of golf by signing for a flawless seven-under-par 64 to grab the opening round lead with Korean duo Yikeun Chang and Giwhan Kim at the Macao Open on Thursday.

Bhullar, a former winner of the tournament in 2012, posted seven birdies while Kim was equally impressive at the Macau Golf and Country Club. 

The 23-year-old Chang fired a superb back-nine 29 highlighted by four birdies and an eagle-two on the third hole.

The in-form Ajeetesh Sandhu of India signaled his strong intentions of winning a third straight title when he signed for a 66 to trail by two shots in fourth place with Thailand’s Danthai Boonma at the US$500,000 Asian Tour event.

Chinese Taipei’s Hung Chien-yao, Filipino ace Angelo Que and Wolmer Murillo of Venezuela, who just won his maiden Asian Development Tour (ADT) title last week, are three shots off the pace in tied-sixth position.

Defending champion Pavit Tangkamolprasert of Thailand battled to a 72 to tie in 47th place while reigning Order of Merit champion Scott Hend of Australia came in a further shot back in tied-65th position at the Macao Open, which is celebrating its 19th edition this week.

Scores after round 1

64 - Giwhan KIM (KOR), Gaganjeet BHULLAR (IND), Yikeun CHANG (KOR).

66 - Ajeetesh SANDHU (IND), Danthai BOONMA (THA).

67 - HUNG Chien-yao (TPE), Angelo QUE (PHI), Wolmer MURILLO (VEN).


69 - Johannes VEERMAN (USA), John CATLIN (USA), Michael BIBAT (PHI), Arie IRAWAN (MAS), Chikkarangappa S. (IND), Josh SALAH (USA), Ryan MCCORMICK (USA), Danny CHIA (MAS), Adilson DA SILVA (BRA), Panuphol PITTAYARAT (THA), Shubhankar SHARMA (IND), Jbe KRUGER (RSA).

70 - John Michael O'TOOLE (USA), Chiragh KUMAR (IND), Daniel CHOPRA (SWE), Sam CYR (USA), Rashid KHAN (IND), Chawalit PLAPHOL (THA), Jyoti RANDHAWA (IND), Prom MEESAWAT (THA), Khalin JOSHI (IND), Atthaphon SRIBOONKAEW (THA), Gareth PADDISON (NZL).