The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Nov 28th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket T20 Internationals South Africa announce T20 Squad to take on Bangladesh

South Africa announce T20 Squad to take on Bangladesh

User Rating: / 0

Cricket South Africa (CSA) today named Hollywoodbets Dolphin all-rounder Robbie Frylinck as a new cap in the Proteas T20 International squad for the two-match series against Bangladesh to be played next week.

“The selection of Robbie provides another opportunity to explore our depth in the important all-rounder position,” commented CSA National Selection Panel Convener Linda Zondi. “Apart from his bowling strengths he has a proven record as a finisher with the bat.”

Zondi also explained the rationale behind the decision to rest Imran Tahir. “Imran remains our first-choice spinner in both the limited overs formats but we also need to develop depth in this important area which is why we have given further opportunities to Shamsi and Phangiso.”

Faf du Plessis resumes the captaincy after missing the series in England while the selectors have also decided to rest Kagiso Rabada who has been playing non-stop cricket for the Proteas for an extended period of time.

Wayne Parnell could not be considered because of injury.

T20 International squad: Faf du Plessis (Multiply Titans, capt), Hashim Amla (WSB Cape Cobras), Farhaan Behardien (Multiply Titans), Quinton de Kock (bizhub Highveld Lions), AB de Villiers (Multiply Titans), JP Duminy (WSB Cape Cobras), Robbie Frylinck (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Beuran Hendricks (bizhub Highveld Lions), David Miller (VKB Knights), Mangaliso Mosehle (bizhub Highveld Lions), Dane Paterson (WSB Cape Cobras), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Tabraiz Shamsi (Multiply Titans).


October 26: 1st KFC T20 International, Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein, 18h00

October 29: 2nd KFC T20 International, Senwes Park, Potchefstroom, 14h30