The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Oct 30th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Football FIFA News USA thrash hosts India 3-0 at Under-17 FIFA World Cup

USA thrash hosts India 3-0 at Under-17 FIFA World Cup

User Rating: / 0

The U.S. U-17 Men's National Team claimed a dominant 3-0 win against host India in their first Group A match at the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup.

A raucous crowd of 46,312 turned out to support India for the nation's first FIFA World Cup game at any level, but the USA was unfazed by the boisterous atmosphere and through a wealth of possession carved out numerous chances throughout the first half before a clever move from captain Josh Sargent earned a penalty kick that he then converted in the 30th minute to give the U.S. a lead it would never relinquish. 

Highlighting his Man of the Match performance for the U-17s, Chris Durkin gave the U.S. breathing room in the 51st minute with a well taken, volleyed goal after a U.S. corner was only half cleared. Andrew Carleton then put the U.S. out of sight with a smooth finish in the 84th minute, countering India's only chunk of sustained pressure in the match to make it 3-0.

While U.S. goalkeeper Justin Garces had mostly light work in securing the shutout, he came up with a great challenge off his line in the 56th to force an India attacker into skying an attempt well over the bar and did so again in the 82nd to stifle any flicker of an India comeback.


USA: 1-Justin Garces; 3-Chris Gloster, 4-James Sands, 6-Chris Durkin, 2-Jaylin Lindsey; 11-Andrew Carleton (18-Indiana Vassilev, 90+1), 8-Blaine Ferri, 20-Chris Goslin; 10-Tim Weah, 9-Josh Sargent (capt.), 7-Ayo Akinola (15-George Acosta, 66)

Subs not used: 12-CJ Dos Santos, 21-Alexander Budnik, 5-Tyler Shaver, 13-Sergino Dest, 14-Akil Watts, 16-Taylor Booth, 17-Bryan Reynolds, 19-Jacobo Reyes

Head Coach: John Hackworth

IND: 1-Dheeraj Moirangthem; 3-Jitendra Singh, 4-Anwar Ali, 5-Sanjeev Stalin, 6-Suresh Wangjam (13-Lalengmawia, 90+3); 7-Ninthoinganba Meetei (16-Nongdamba Naorem, 70), 8-Amarjit Kiyam (capt.), 9-Aniket Jadhav, 10-Abhijit Sarkar (14-Rahim Ali, 70); 11-Komal Thatal, 17-Rahul Kannoly

Subs not used: 2-Boris Thangjam, 12-Anthony Hendry, 15-Jeakson Thounaojam, 18-Namit Deshpande, 19-Mohammed Shahjahan, 20-Prabhsukhan Gill, 21-Sunny Dhaliwal

Head Coach: Luis Norton de Matos

Final Score: India 0-3 USA

USA - Josh Sargent (penalty kick) 30th minute

USA - Chris Durkin 51

USA - Andrew Carleton (George Acosta) 84