The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Oct 24th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket Test Cricket Australia announce 2017 Pathways Rookie Squad

Australia announce 2017 Pathways Rookie Squad

User Rating: / 0

Cricket Australia’s 2017 Pathways Rookie Squad has been announced, featuring 53 of the country’s most talented male teenage cricketers. This is the third annual intake for the program, which commenced in 2015 to help identify and nurture Australia’s next generation of stars, aged between 14 and 17. In just two years, the program has already helped develop players who now have state contracts.

Western Australia allrounder Cameron Green, a member of the 2015 squad, picked up a five-wicket haul in a stunning JLT Sheffield Shield debut last summer, while two more members of the inaugural intake, Queensland’s Xavier Bartlett and New South Wales’ Jason Sangha, played in last summer’s JLT One-Day Cup for the Cricket Australia XI.

The Pathways Rookie Squad is selected by the Youth Selection Panel in conjunction with State and Territory Talent Managers, with selection designed to create future playing and training opportunities at a state or national level.

This year’s squad features several players who have already made a mark in Australia’s underage system.

These include Victorian batsman and last year’s Australia Under 16s captain, Mackenzie Harvey, West Australian fast bowler Jordan Clark, who claimed a hat-trick for Australia Under 16s against Pakistan last year, and Victorian wicket-keeper Patrick Rowe, who played for the Cricket Australia XI at last summer’s Under 19 National Championships at just 15 years of age.

Cricket Australia’s National Talent Manager, Greg Chappell, said: “There are plenty of talented young cricketers coming through in Australia right now. The Pathways Rookie Squad is an important part of the overall Pathways Program, in helping to identify these players, and to ensure we give them every opportunity at a state or national level to continue their development as cricketers and young men.

“The first two years of this program have been a success. We have seen Cameron Green go on to play in the Sheffield Shield for Western Australia, Xavier Bartlett and Jason angha both represent the Cricket Australia XI at Domestic One-Day Cup level, and several other players win state contracts or represent Australia Under 19s.

“The future is bright for Australian cricket, and we are confident that this year’s squad also contains players destined for bigger and better things in the years to come.”

Green is one of three Pathways Rookie Squad graduates to have earned promotion from a rookie contract to a full state contract for this summer, alongside Victorian duo Xavier Crone and Blake Thomson.

Several others now have state rookie deals, including Bartlett, Sangha, Victorian duo Will Sutherland and Zak Evans, Tasmania’s Liam Devlin, New South Wales’ Param Uppal and Western Australia’s Matthew Spoors.

New South Wales is the best-represented state in this year’s squad with 17 players, followed by Victoria with 15. Queensland, Western Australia and South Australia each have six representatives, while Tasmania has three.

All players named in the squad are eligible for this year’s Under 17 National Championships.

Following the championships, a select group from within the program will be named to take part in Cricket Australia’s Rookie Camp in January 2018.

The camp is a four-day program at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane, designed to give players an insight into life as a professional cricketer.

2017 Pathways Rookie Squad (current club in brackets)

New South Wales: Tyson Lee (Mosman), Oliver Davies (Manly Warringah), Liam Scott (Sydney), Lachlan Hearne (Mosman), Liam Marshall (Campbelltown-Camden), Lawson Eva (Tahmoor), Mac Jenkins (Randwick Petersham), Sam Fanning (Northern Districts), Harry Menenti (Sydney), Jacob Workman (Parramatta), Brock Larance (Dubbo CYMS), Toby Gray (Belmont), Bradley Simpson (Bankstown), Ajay Singh (Northern Districts), Hugh Sherriff (Sydney), Dominic O’Shannessy (East Bowral Blues), Tanveer Sangha (Campbelltown Camden)

Queensland: Connor Sully (Northern Suburbs), Max Clayton (University of Queensland), William Prestwidge (Northern Suburbs), Matthew Willans (University of Queensland), Jet Liebke (Sandgate Redcliffe), Mitchell Pascoe (Sandgate Redcliffe)

South Australia: Zac Worden (Tea Tree Gully), Ryan King (East Torrens), Kyle Brazell (Tea Tree Gully), Sam Rahaley (Kensington), Will Bowering (Glenelg), Suraj Rajesh (Southern District)

Tasmania: James Curran (Launceston), Jack McCulloch (Burnie Hurricanes), Lewis Drury (University)

Victoria: Mackenzie Harvey (Carlton), Mitchell Davey (Kooweerup), Lachlan Field (Geelong), Thomas Jackson (Geelong), Zane Keighran (Carlton), Todd Murphy (St Kilda), Patrick Rowe (Melbourne), Bailen Clark (Fitzroy-Doncaster), Triyan De Silva (Monash Tigers), Miles Sellenger (St Kilda), Matthew Watt (Werribee), Jakob Woinarski (Mordialloc), Campbell Griffiths (Merbein South), Jake Fraser-McGurk (Monash Tigers), Yash Pednekar (Monash Tigers)

Western Australia: Damien Burrage (Rockingham Mandurah), Jordan Clark (Rockingham Mandurah), James Pike (Claremont Nedlands), Connor J Smith (Perth), Ewan Nielson (Melville), Michael Herbst (Wanneroo)