The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Oct 24th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket One Day Internationals Australian squads named for Tour of India

Australian squads named for Tour of India

User Rating: / 0

Cricket Australia’s National Selection Panel has named a 14-player One-Day International and 13-player T20 International squad respectively for the Tour of India which will take place between 17 September and 13 October.

Tour of India ODI Squad:

Steve Smith (C) NSW

David Warner (VC) NSW

Ashton Agar WA

Hilton Cartwright WA

Nathan Coulter-Nile WA

Patrick Cummins NSW

James Faulkner TAS

Aaron Finch VIC

Josh Hazlewood NSW

Travis Head SA

Glenn Maxwell VIC

Marcus Stoinis WA

Matthew Wade TAS

Adam Zampa SA

Tour of India T20I Squad

Steve Smith (C)  NSW

David Warner (VC) NSW

Jason Behrendorff WA

Dan Christian VIC

Nathan Coulter-Nile WA

Patrick Cummins NSW

Aaron Finch VIC

Travis Head SA

Moises Henriques NSW

Glenn Maxwell VIC

Tim Paine TAS

Kane Richardson SA

Adam Zampa SA

Speaking on the selection of the ODI Squad, National Selector Trevor Hohns said: “We believe the panel has selected a strong squad to face the tough Indian conditions, that has the right mix of pace and spin.”

Nathan Coulter-Nile returns to the side following his recent recovery from a back injury, with James Faulkner receiving a re-call along with new comer to the short format Hilton Cartwright.

“Nathan brings raw pace to the side with good variation. It is great to see him back from injury and we are hopeful he will have a big impact in this series.

“James Faulkner is a solid One-Day campaigner and is very familiar with sub-continent conditions, coming off a very good tour of Sri Lanka last year.  We hope that he will take his chance in returning to the one-day side. Hilton is an aggressive striker of the ball and we think his game will be well suited to the transition to short-form cricket,” concluded Hohns.

Speaking on the T20 International squad, T20 National Selector Mark Waugh said: “The overall standards being set in the BBL and also the IPL are very high and the players selected have impressed in these tournaments.

WA paceman Jason Behrendorff has been selected following his return from an injury set-back, along with Victorian all-rounder Dan Christian and Tasmanian wicket-keeper Tim Paine.

“Jason has been a stand out performer for the Scorchers for a number of seasons and deserves his chance at this level. Dan is a very experienced all-rounder who can be a very dangerous batsman. He had a solid IPL season this year and we believe his bowling will be well suited to the conditions we will face in India. Tim Paine has been called-up following his successful home T20 International and Big Bash campaigns,” concluded Waugh.

Mitchell Starc has been excluded from the two squads as he continues his return from a right foot injury.

Bupa Support Staff Physiotherapist David Beakley said, “We have recently reviewed the progress of Mitchell’s right foot injury and the healing process has been slower than we would have liked.

“Consequently, in order to ensure his best possible preparation for the Ashes, he will be unavailable for the Tour of India and will continue his rehab in Australia with an aim to have him play for New South Wales in the domestic one-day cup.”