The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Aug 07th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Football European News Manchester United beat Ajax 2-0 to win Europa League title

Manchester United beat Ajax 2-0 to win Europa League title

User Rating: / 0

English Premier League (EPL) side Manchester United lifted the Europa League trophy with a 2-0 victory over Ajax Amsterdam in the final, also securing an automatic spot in next season's UEFA Champions League group phase.

Injury-riddled Man United finished a mere sixth in the EPL and had to hinge on winning the Europa League as only the league's top four could qualify for the Champions League.

Both sides and the crowd in the Friends Arena observed a one-minute silence for the victims of the Manchester bomb attack on Monday night.

Manchester United put huge pressure on the Dutch side, who almost gifted their opponents a lead one minute into the game. Ajax goalkeeper Andre Onana banged into his own teammate in an attempt to clear the ball, while leaving an empty net in front of Manchester United midfielder Paul Pogba, whose shot amazingly hit the post.

Pogba did break the deadlock though for Manchester United on 18 minutes.

Ajax, whose starting XI averaged around 22 years in age, failed to concentrate on their defence duties from a throw in with Marouane Fellaini feeding Pogba for a shot from outside the penalty area. The Frenchman's short took a fortunate deflection off Ajax defender Davinson Sanchez, and Onana had no chance to make the save.

Manchester United built a two-goal lead early in the second half thanks to Henrikh Mkhitaryan's strike from a corner. After Chris Smalling headed the ball down, Mkhitaryan finished with a brilliant hook into the net in the 48th minute.

"The start was very important, we scored very early, then we got the second goal and we controlled the game," Pogba said after the game.

Veteran striker Wayne Rooney, benched just before stoppage time, lifted the trophy as the team captain in what was probably his last appearance for Manchester United.

After sealing the victory in the Europa League, formerly known as UEFA Cup, Manchester United have joined Ajax, Bayern Munich, Chelsea and Juventus in an elite band of teams to have won all three of UEFA's major club trophies, namely European Champion Clubs' Cup/Champions League, UEFA Cup/Europa League, and European Cup Winners' Cup.