The Worlds Favourite Playground

Saturday, Nov 27th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Football FIFA News South Africa and Angola play out goalless draw

South Africa and Angola play out goalless draw

User Rating: / 0

Bafana Bafana and Angola played to a goalless draw in an international friendly match held at a packed Buffalo City Stadium on Tuesday, 28 March 2017. With the result, South Africa extended their unbeaten run to 17 games.

A moment of silence was observed before the start of the fixture in remembrance of the late liberation struggle icon Ahmed Kathrada who passed away on Sunday morning (28 March 2017) as well former Bloemfontein Celtic owner Dr. Petrus “Whitehead” Molemela who lost his life this past Sunday (26 March 2017).

In the first half Bafana Bafana looked disjointed, but that was to be expected after stand-in coach Owen da Gama made nine changes to the team that started in the 3-1 win over Guinea Bissau on Saturday, 25 March 2017 in Durban.

Da Gama handed out three new caps to Phakamani Mahlambi, Diamond Thopola and Luther Singh.

Angola controlled the proceedings in the first half as the hosts tried to find their feet.

South Africa were however able to create a number of chances but nothing came of them, with Percy Tau coming close in the opening 20 minutes but chose the wrong option of passing the ball when he could have taken the shot himself.

The visitors nearly found the back of the net with a Herenilson’s shot, but Darren Keet was alert in the Bafana Bafana goals and was able to deal with it.

With the score 0-0 at halftime, Da Gama made four changes as he brought on Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Themba Zwane, Thulani Serero and Keagan Dolly for Thopola, Mahlambi, Lebohang Manyama and Singh respectively.

The home team managed to wrestle back the control of the game, but still could not find the back of the net - even the late inclusion of Kermit Erasmus for Tau was to no avail as the match ended in a stalemate.

South Africa has now met Angola 13 times, winning eight matches, drawing four and losing only once.

This is how they lined up:

South Africa: Darren Keet (GK), Diamond Thopola (Mphahlele 46'), Erick Mathoho, Rivaldo Coetzee, Teboho Langerman, Andile Jali (C), Tiyani Mabunda, Phakamani Mahlambi (Zwane 46'), Lebohang Manyama (Serero 46'), Luther Singh (Dolly 46'), Percy Tau (Erasmus 74')

Angola: Neblu, Lunguinha, Nary, Bastos, Natael, Manquxi, Leite, Herenilson, Nandinho, Yano, Papel.