The Worlds Favourite Playground

Saturday, Jan 23rd

Last update:03:52:25 PM GMT

You are here: Football FIFA World Cup Gnabry amongst young trio called up by Germany, Ozil rested

Gnabry amongst young trio called up by Germany, Ozil rested

User Rating: / 0

Germany's football coach Joachim Loew has included three youngsters in his 25-men squad for the upcoming international matches.

Loew, on Friday called up three promising players - Bayer Leverkusen's Benjamin Henrichs, Wolfsburg's Yannick Gerhardt and Werder Bremen's Serge Gnarby - for the upcoming games.


"We take the last qualifying matches of the year very seriously. In San Marino we want to reap a victory to cement our first place in the group. At the same time we want to give young players a chance," Loew said.

"We want to see Serge Gnarby, Yannick Gerhardt and Benjamin Henrichs, who we all know from the Under-21. We have registered their good performances in the last months," he added.

Manchester City's Leroy Sane, Dortmund's Andre Schuerrle as well as Roma's Antonio Ruediger did not make it into the squad as they recently returned from injuries. Additionally, Arsenal attacker Mesut Ozil has been rested because of his heavy workload for club and country. His club mate Shkodran Mustafi has been included.

The German national team face San Marino for the World Cup qualifier in Group C on November 11. Four days later Loew's men travel to Italy to conclude 2016 with a friendly match.

"Italy belongs to the great football nations. These are the game everyone is looking forward to. There is a lot of prestige involved," Loew said.


Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Marc Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)

Defender: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Yannick Gerhardt (Wolfsburg), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Benjamin Henrichs (Bayer Leverkusen), Benedikt Hoewedes (Schalke), Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Shkodran Mustafi (Arsenal), Sebastian Rudy (Hoffenheim), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen)

Midfielder: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Serge Gnarby (Werder Bremen), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City), Sami Khedira (Juventus Turin), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Max Meyer (Schalke), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Kevin Volland (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Weigl (Dortmund)

Striker: Mario Gomez (Wolfsburg), Mario Goetze (Dortmund).