The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Jul 10th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Tennis Davis Cup Seeds announced for Draw for 2017 Davis Cup

Seeds announced for Draw for 2017 Davis Cup

User Rating: / 1

Argentina and Croatia head the seeds for the Draw for the World Group of the 2017 Davis Cup, which will take place at the BNP Paribas offices in London on Thursday 22 September at 13:00 local time (12:00 GMT).

The draws for 2017 Asia/Oceania Zone Groups I and II, and Europe/Africa Zone Groups I and II will also take place on Thursday. The ITF will confirm on Tuesday whether the draws can be held for Americas Zone Groups I and II.

According to the Davis Cup Regulations, the two finalist nations are seeded No. 1 and No. 2 in the World Group for the following year, and will be drawn in opposite halves. Seeds 3-8 are in accordance with the latest ITF Davis Cup Nations Ranking of 19 September.

World Group

1. Argentina

2. Croatia

3. Great Britain

4. Czech Republic

5. Switzerland

6. France

7. Belgium

8. Serbia

The seeded nations will be drawn against the remaining World Group nations: Australia, Canada, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, Spain and USA.

Seeds for the Zone Group I and Group II competitions are also based on the latest Davis Cup Nations Ranking.

Asia/Oceania Zone Group I

1. Kazakhstan

2. India

Remaining Nations: China P.R., Chinese Taipei, Korea Rep., New Zealand and Uzbekistan

Asia/Oceania Zone Group II

1. Pakistan

2. Thailand

3. Philippines

4. Vietnam

Remaining Nations: Hong Kong China, Indonesia, Iran and Kuwait

Europe/Africa Zone Group I

1. Slovakia

2. Ukraine

3. Netherlands

4. Austria

Remaining Nations: Belarus, Bosnia/Herzegovina, Hungary, Winner of Israel v Sweden, Poland, Portugal, Romania

Europe/Africa Zone Group II

1. Loser of Israel v Sweden

2. Slovenia

3. Lithuania

4. Denmark

5. Finland

6. Latvia

7. Turkey

8. South Africa

Remaining Nations: Cyprus, Estonia, Georgia, Madagascar, Monaco, Morocco, Norway and Tunisia

The World Group dates for the 2017 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas are as follows:

World Group first round: 3-5 February

World Group quarterfinals: 7-9 April

World Group semifinals and play-offs: 15-17 September

World Group Final: 24-26 November