The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Oct 22nd

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Home News Bytes Australian Netball World Youth Cup squad named

Australian Netball World Youth Cup squad named

User Rating: / 0

National selectors have announced the 2016-17 Australian Netball World Youth Cup squad, which will form the basis for the 2017 Netball World Youth Cup team, to be hosted in Gaborone, Botswana in July next year.

The team was named by Australian World Youth Cup Coach Tania Obst, selector Jill McIntosh and Netball Australia’s National Pathway Manager Stacey West.

National selectors have been keeping a close eye on the athletes as they have progressed through the pathway, according to Tania Obst.

“We’ve been watching this group of athletes for a number of years through the national underage pathway and have taken into account this year’s National Championships, Australian Netball League, ANZ Championship and the recent 20/U International Netball Series,” said Obst.

Athletes will continue to train in their home environments, before meeting at Netball Australia’s Centre of Excellence for a five-day camp in November.

“We are working closely with the national netball league teams and the SIS/SAS network, as they will assist in delivering the majority of training for the squad.

“We have a really good connection with the institute coaches and are looking forward to continuing to work with them on our athletes’ development through their individual athlete performance plans. The national netball league teams and SIS/SAS network will be a major part in the success of the squad,” said Obst.

The Netball World Youth Cup is a major stepping-stone on the national pathway. Five current Diamonds, Kim Ravaillion, Paige Hadley, Gabi Simpson, Gretel Tippett and Jo Weston were members of the 2013 Netball World Youth Cup team.

“With such depth in our squad, the future of Australian netball looks bright. The World Youth Cup will provide invaluable international exposure for our young athletes.”

Netball Australia thanks the Australian Commonwealth Games Association - through its NextGEN AUSComGames squad program - for its support of the 2016-17 Australian Netball World Youth Cup squad.

2016-17 Australian Netball World Youth Cup squad

(name, state of origin)

Toni Anderson (New South Wales)

Jessica Anstiss (Western Australia)

Lucy Armfield (South Australia)

Keira Austin (New South Wales)

Natalie Bright (Western Australia)

Emily Burgess (South Australia)

Jane Cook (Victoria)

Kate Eddy (Victoria)

Prudence Ellis (New South Wales)

Sophie Garbin (Western Australia)

Matilda Garrett (Victoria)

Sasha Glasgow (South Australia)

Samantha Gooden (Victoria)

Annika Lee-Jones (Western Australia)

Jemma Mi Mi (Queensland)

Claire O’Brien (New South Wales)

Hannah Petty (South Australia)

Kelsie Rainbow (Tasmania)

Emma Ryde (Victoria)

Alice Teague-Neeld (Victoria)