The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Feb 23rd

Last update:04:12:24 PM GMT

You are here: Football FIFA News USA names squad to face Banyana Banyana

USA names squad to face Banyana Banyana

User Rating: / 0

The United States Women’s National Team has named 24 players for a training camp ahead of their clash with Banyana Banyana.

Twenty players were part of the friendlies against Japan last month, and head coach Jill Ellis has recalled co-captain Carli Lloyd who missed the 1-0 victory over Japan due to a knee injury.

Also back in the squad is midfielder Megan Rapione, who hasn’t been selected since December 2015 as she was recovering from surgery.

Rapione is continuing with rehabilitation and has only been called up for training and evaluation – she will not feature in the clash against the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana.

The match will take place on Saturday, 9 July 2016 at Soldiers Field in Chicago, Illinois, USA. Kickoff is at 19h00 South African time.

Both South Africa and the USA are using the fixture to prepare for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

The clash with Banyana Banyana is one of two for the USA before they leave for Brazil. The second will be a send-off encounter against Costa Rica on 22 July 2016 at Children’s Mercy Park in Kansas City.

Both South Africa and the USA have a player each that is on the verge of making a century of appearances for their respective national teams.

Banyana Banyana midfielder Amanda Dlamini, and USA goalkeeper Hope Solo are on the 99 mark. Solo could become the first goalkeeper in U.S. and world history to achieve that milestone of 100 games should she play against Banyana Banyana.

U.S. Women’s National Team to face South Africa:


1. Ashlyn Harris                      (Orlando Pride)

2. Alyssa Naeher                     (Chicago Red Stars)

3. Hope Solo                            (Seattle Reign FC)


4. Whitney Engen                      (Boston Breakers)

5. Jaelene Hinkle                       (Western New York Flash)

6. Julie Johnston                        (Chicago Red Stars)

7. Meghan Klingenberg             (Portland Thorns FC)

8. Ali Krieger                             (Washington Spirit)

9. Gina Lewandowski                (FC Bayern Munich)

10. Kelley O’Hara                      (Sky Blue FC)

11. Becky Sauerbrunn                 (FC Kansas City)

12. Emily Sonnett                        (Portland Thorns FC)


13. Morgan Brian                         (Houston Dash)

14. Tobin Heath                            (Portland Thorns FC)

15. Lindsey Horan                        (Portland Thorns FC)

16. Carli Lloyd                              (Houston Dash)

17. Allie Long                               (Portland Thorns FC)

18. Megan Rapinoe                       (Seattle Reign FC)

19. Samantha Mewis                     (Western New York Flash)

20. Heather O’Reilly                     (FC Kansas City)


21. Crystal Dunn                         (Washington Spirit)

22. Alex Morgan                         (Orlando Pride)

23. Christen Press                        (Chicago Red Stars)

24. Mallory Pugh                         (Real Colorado)