The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Oct 24th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Tennis ATP / WTA Tour ITF announces singles entries for Rio 2016 Paralympic Tennis Event

ITF announces singles entries for Rio 2016 Paralympic Tennis Event

User Rating: / 0

The ITF today announced the full list of singles entries for the Rio 2016 Paralympic Tennis Event at the Olympic Tennis Centre in Barra Olympic Park on 9-16 September. A total of 100 players from 29 countries will compete at the venue for six gold medals, with singles and doubles competitions held in men’s, women’s and quad categories. The doubles teams will be confirmed in July, but will comprise those players already contesting the singles events.

The men’s singles event will feature 52 players, women’s singles 32 players and quad singles 16 players. The quad event is open to both men and women.

The entries are a combination of direct acceptances based on the ITF wheelchair world rankings of 23 May 2016, and Bipartite Commission Invitation places awarded by the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Committee and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC). Four Doubles World Ranking Allocation places have been awarded in the men’s doubles to ensure the strongest possible competition, with these players also receiving entry into the singles. The men’s and women’s winners of the 2014 Asian Para Games and the 2015 Para PanAm Games have also received a direct entry.

Two-time Paralympic singles champion Shingo Kunieda of Japan will defend his men’s title in a strong field that also includes world No. 1 and London 2012 silver medallist Stephane Houdet of France. Australian Open champion Gordon Reid of Great Britain, and Roland Garros champion Gustavo Fernandez of Argentina are among the other leading names.

The women’s singles is guaranteed a new champion following the retirement of four-time Paralympic singles gold medallist Esther Vergeer of Netherlands. World No. 1 Jiske Griffioen and Aniek van Koot will look to continue the Dutch dominance of the event, having won bronze and silver respectively at London 2012. US Open champion Jordanne Whiley of Great Britain, and Roland Garros champion Marjolein Buis of Netherlands are also among the entries.

There will be a new winner of the quad singles, with world No. 1 Dylan Alcott of Australia heading the entries. American David Wagner, a three-time Paralympic singles medallist, will also be bidding for gold, alongside his compatriot and London 2012 bronze medallist Nick Taylor, with whom he has won three consecutive Paralympic men’s doubles titles.

The Paralympic Tennis Event will be played on hard court, with nine match courts and six practice courts, including a 10,000-capacity centre court, and 3,000-capacity second show court. The Olympic Tennis Centre will previously be used for the Olympic Tennis Event on 6-14 August.

ITF President David Haggerty said: “Following the most successful Paralympic Tennis Event in history at London 2012, I am confident that this year’s event will be an equally memorable competition. Wheelchair tennis has become one of the most popular Paralympic sports thanks to its outstanding athletes and great personalities, and we are looking forward to a great atmosphere and some fierce competition.”



Argentina                  Ezequiel Casco, Gustavo Fernandez (PPA), Agustin Ledesma

Australia                   Adam Kellerman, Ben Weekes

Austria                      Nico Langmann, Martin Legner

Belgium                    Mike Denayer (**), Joachim Gerard

Brazil                        Rafael Medeiros, Mauricio Pomme (**), Daniel Rodrigues, Carlos Santos

Canada                      Philippe Bedard (*)

Chile                         Robinson Mendez (*)

China, P.R.                Dong Shunjiang (**), Zujun Wei

Colombia                  Eliecer Oquendo (*)

France                       Frederic Cattaneo, Stephane Houdet, Michael Jeremiasz, Nicolas Peifer

Great Britain              Alfie Hewett, Marc McCarroll, David Phillipson, Gordon Reid

Greece                      Stefanos Diamantis (*)

Hungary                    Roland Nemeth (*)

Israel                         Adam Berdichevski

Italy                           Fabian Mazzei

Japan                        Shingo Kunieda (AP), Takuya Miki, Satoshi Saida, Takashi Sanada

Korea, Rep.               Ho-Won Im (*), Ha-Gel Lee (*)

Malaysia                    Abu Samah Borhan (*)

Netherlands               Tom Egberink, Maikel Scheffers

Poland                      Kamil Fabisiak, Tadeusz Kruszelnicki

South Africa              Leon Els, Evans Maripa

Spain                        Daniel Caverzaschi , Martin De La Puente, Francesc Tur

Sri Lanka                  Upali Rajakaruna (*)

Sweden                     Stefan Olsson, Dan Wallin (**)

Thailand                    Suthi Khlongrua (*)

USA                          Steve Baldwin (*), Jon Rydberg (*)


Brazil                        Rejane Candida (*), Natalia Mayara (PPA)

Chile                         Macarena Cabrillana (*), Francisca Mardones

China, P.R.                Hui Min Huang (*), Zhenzhen Zhu

Colombia                  Angelica Bernal (*)

France                       Charlotte Famin, Emmanuelle Morch (*)

Germany                   Sabine Ellerbrock, Katharina Kruger

Great Britain              Louise Hunt, Lucy Shuker, Jordanne Whiley

Italy                           Marianna Lauro

Japan                        Kanako Domori, Yui Kamiji, Miho Nijo

Korea, Rep.               Ju-Youn Park

Netherlands               Marjolein Buis, Diede De Groot, Jiske Griffioen, Aniek van Koot

Russia                       Ludmila Bubnova, Viktoriia Lvova

South Africa              Kgothatso Montjane

Spain                        Lola Ochoa (*)

Thailand                    Sakhorn Khanthasit (AP)

Turkey                       Busra Un (*)

USA                          Emmy Kaiser, Dana Mathewson, Kaitlyn Verfuerth (*)


Australia                   Dylan Alcott, Heath Davidson (*)

Brazil                        Rodrigo Oliveira (*), Ymanitu Silva (*)

Great Britain              Jamie Burdekin, Antony Cotterill, Andrew Lapthorne

Israel                         Itay Erenlib, Shraga Weinberg

Italy                           Alberto Corradi

Japan                        Shota Kawano, Mitsuteru Moroishi

South Africa              Lucas Sithole

USA                          Bryan Barten (*), Nicholas Taylor, David Wagner