The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, Nov 30th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Season 9: KKR beat Sunrisers Hyderabad to confirm play-off berth

IPL Season 9: KKR beat Sunrisers Hyderabad to confirm play-off berth

User Rating: / 1

The Kolkata Knight Riders have beaten the Sunrisers Hyderabad by 22 runs at the Eden Garderns in the 4pm start on Sunday to book their place in the play-offs for Season 9 of the IPL. The match itself was an entertaining affair with KKR making full use of a poor decision from the Sunrisers Hyderabad to send them in on a pitch that would offer grip and turn as the match wore on to post a winning total of 171-6 on the board. The Sunrisers in response could manage only 149-8 in their 20 overs with Sunil Narine and Kuldeep Yadav taking 5 wickets to ensure victory for the home side.

Robin Uthappa once again gave the Knight Riders an electric start, gliding the ball through the offside with unerring precision to post 25 before he fell to Barinder Sran. Colin Munro, picked ahead of Eoin Morgan today, failed to make the most of the opportunity afforded to him as he contributed just 10 and KKR looked in a spot of bother at 57-3 when Gautam Gambhir fell too after getting off to a start for 16.

Both left-handers fell to the part-time off-spin of Deepak Hooda, and the Sunrisers perhaps missed a trick by not bowling the youngster out.

Yusuf Pathan (52* off 34 balls) and Manish Pandey (48 off 30 balls) took charge of proceedings out in the middle and added 87 for the fourth wicket in what was a match-winning partnership, though Sunrisers Hyderabad finished strongly in the end to keep their hosts down to just 171.

David Warner failed to fire today, chipping in with 18 off 16 balls before he became the first of Sunil Narine's three victims. Shikhar Dhawan took charge for the Sunrisers and powered his way to 51 off 30 balls to counter the work done by one of KKR's top contributors, but no one else in the Sunrisers' ranks made a telling contributing.

Naman Ojha bumped up the order to no.3 had a poor outing, wasting 25 balls en route to making just 15 and that put the Sunrisers well behind the asking rate. The rest of the batsmen that followed as a result got no time to get their eye in and had to go after the bowling right from the off.

Shakib Al Hasan got rid of the dangerous Yuvraj Singh for 19 off 12, and after that it was easy pickings for KKR as they ran through the lower middle order to restrict the Sunrisers to 149-8.

The Sunrisers crucially did enough to ensure that they finish above KKR in the standings with a net run rate of +0.245 to +0.106, however, with Hyderabad failing to win, they must now await the result of the final game of the group stages between the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Delhi Daredevils to learn whether they finish 2nd or 3rd, which would mean either they head into the Qualifier against the Gujarat Lions or the Eliminator in which they would face KKR again.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (c), Robin Uthappa (wk), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Colin Munro, Jason Holder, Kuldeep Yadav, Sunil Narine, Ankit Rajpoot

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson, Yuvraj Singh, Deepak Hooda, Moises Henriques, Naman Ojha(wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Karn Sharma, Mustafizur Rahman, Barinder Sran

Mini Scorecard:

Kolkata Knight Riders 171/6 (20 overs, 8.55rpo)

Y Pathan 52* (34) D Hooda 2-16 (2)

M Pandey 48 (30) B Kumar 2-31 (4)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 149/8 (20 overs, 7.45rpo)

S Dhawan 51 (30) S Narine 3-26 (4)

Y Singh 19 (12) K Yadav 2-28 (4)

Kolkata Knight Riders won by 22 runs