The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Jul 10th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Season 9: Mumbai Indians crush Delhi Daredevils to stay alive

IPL Season 9: Mumbai Indians crush Delhi Daredevils to stay alive

User Rating: / 0

A fantastic allround performance from Krunal Pandya helped the Mumbai Indians stay in contention for a play-off berth courtesy of a thumping 80 run win over the Delhi Daredevils.

The Indians, playing their 13th game of the season, were put in to bat by the Daredevils and posted a match winning total of 206-4 in their 20 overs with Pandya contributing an amazing 86 off 37 balls with the help of 6 sixes and 7 fours. The rookie left-hander shared in a 98 run partnership with Martin Guptill for the second wicket which was eventually broken when Zaheer Khan got rid of Guptill for 48.

Earlier, Rohit Sharma had got Mumbai off to a flyer with a brisk 31 off 21 balls before falling to guile of Amit Mishra, though the wicket belonged just as much to Rishabh Pant, who took a fantastic catch diving forward.

Jos Buttler with 18 off 9 balls and Kieron Pollard with 13 off 5 added some more impetus late on to take Mumbai past the 200 run mark.

Barring a brief cameo from Quinton de Kock, who chipped in with 40, Delhi were never really in the game as their inconsistent recent run continues, and the visitors were eventually bowled out for 126 in the 20th over with Jasprit Bumrah taking 3-13 from his 4 overs, while Pandya chipped in with 2-15 himself.

Mumbai have now moved up to 14 points and have just the one game left to play, taking on the Gujarat Lions who slide down to fourth place as a result of Mumbai's win tonight. The Delhi Daredevils meanwhile are fifth with 12 points from 11 games, and stay in Visakhapatnam for their game against the Rising Pune Supergiants on Tuesday night.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Martin Guptill, Ambati Rayudu, Nitish Rana, Jos Buttler (wk), Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Vinay Kumar, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah

Delhi Daredevils: Quinton de Kock (wk), Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Sanju Samson, Rishabh Pant, JP Duminy, Chris Morris, Shahbaz Nadeem, Amit Mishra, Zaheer Khan (c), Imran Tahir

Mini Scorecard:

Mumbai Indians 206/4 (20 overs, 10.30rpo)

K Pandya 86 (37) C Morris 2-34 (4)

M Guptill 48 (42) Z Khan 1-23 (4)

Delhi Daredevils 126 all out (19.1 overs, 6.57rpo)

Q de Kock 40 (28) J Bumrah 3-13 (4)

R Pant 23 (17) K Pandya 2-15 (2.1)

Mumbai Indians win by 80 runs