The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, Jun 22nd

Last update:12:32:52 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Season 9: Heartbreak for Delhi as they lose by 1 run despite Morris' 8 sixes

IPL Season 9: Heartbreak for Delhi as they lose by 1 run despite Morris' 8 sixes

User Rating: / 0

The innings of the tournament thus far, an incredible unbeaten 82 from Chris Morris off just 32 balls went in vain as the Delhi Daredevils suffered a heartbreaking 1 run loss to the Gujarat Lions at the Feroz Shah Kotla on Wednesday night as some fantastic bowling at the death by Praveen Kumar complemented Dhawal Kulkarani's burst at the start with the duo taking 3-32 from 8 overs between them.

Having been put in to bat after losing the toss, the Gujarat Lions made a fantastic start with Dwayne Smith (53 off 30 balls) and Brendon McCullum (60 off 36 balls) sharing a century stand between them, racing to 112 in a little over 10 overs before Imran Tahir finally provided Delhi with a breakthrough trapping the West Indian native leg before.

Chris Morris then provided a double breakthrough with the ball, getting rid of McCullum and Suresh Raina (2) in the same over. That slowed down the Lions' charge and the side that looked set to get in excess of 200 at one stage were restricted to 172-6 with Tahir finishing with 3-24 from his 4 overs. The Lions lost wickets in a clump, and if it hadn't been for a late burst from James Faulkner (22*), the Lions might have been limited to closer to 160-165.

The Delhi Daredevils in contrast got off to a terrible start, with Dhawal Kulkarni running through the top order, reducing Delhi to 16-3 in 4 overs. JP Duminy and young Rishabh Pant stemmed the rot, adding 41 for the fourth wicket before the latter was dismissed for 20 by James Faulkner.

That brought Chris Morris to the crease and the Proteas batsman changed the game in a matter of minutes. Suddenly the ball was flying out of the ground as Morris brought up his half-century off just 17 balls, tying Chris Gayle and Adam Gilchrist's IPL record for the fastest 50 in the tournament's history.

The popular allrounder smashed Dwayne Smith for 3 sixes in a row and hit 8 in all to bring Delhi right back in the contest. However, just when it looked like the match was back in the balance, Delhi lost JP Duminy for 48 with Bravo running back to catch a skier from the batsman off his own bowling.

Pawan Negi failed to provide Morris with the support necessary to take Delhi home with Praveen Kumar bowling an exceptional penultimate over, conceding just 4 runs as he finished with excellent figures of 0-13 from his 4 overs.

That left Dwayne Bravo with 13 to defend in the final over, and despite Faulkner dropping Morris on the first ball, and some poor fielding from Ravindra Jadeja shortly after, Bravo was able to keep Morris to three consecutive 2s on the last three balls of the match to take his side to a 1 run victory.

The win takes the Lions back to the top of the IPL standings with 10 points from 6 games, while the Delhi Daredevils stay in third place with 6 points from 5 games. Delhi will look to make the most of that game in hand when they take on second placed Kolkata Knight Riders right here at the Kotla in the 4pm start on Saturday, while the Gujarat Lions head to Pune on Friday to face the Supergiants.


Delhi Daredevils: Quinton de Kock (wk), Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, JP Duminy, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Imran Tahir, Shahbaz Nadeem, Zaheer Khan (c), Amit Mishra

Gujarat Lions: Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, James Faulkner, Ishan Kishan, Praveen Kumar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Pravin Tambe

Mini Scorecard:

Gujarat Lions 172-6 (20 overs, 8.60rpo)

B McCullum 60 (36) I Tahir 3-24 (4)

D Smith 53 (30) C Morris 2-35 (4)

Delhi Daredevils 171-5 (20 overs, 8.55rpo)

C Morris 82* (32) D Kulkarni 3-19 (4)

JP Duminy 48 (43) J Faulkner 1-23 (2)

Gujarat Lions win by 1 run