The Worlds Favourite Playground

Saturday, Mar 28th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Season 9: De Kock century scripts Delhi Daredevils win

IPL Season 9: De Kock century scripts Delhi Daredevils win

User Rating: / 1

A fantastic century from South African wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock, the first of Season 9 of the IPL, was the highlight of the day as the Delhi Daredevils picked up their second win of the tournament in a high-scoring affair at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

The Delhi Daredevils won the toss and unsurprisingly put their hosts, the Royal Challengers Bangalore in, with 9 out of the 10 victories in the tournament thus far having gone the way of the side chasing.

RCB had another poor start with Chris Gayle falling for nought once again, caught brilliantly by JP Duminy in the slips off Zaheer Khan. Delhi's joy didn't last long though as the next 45 minutes or so of the match brought total carnage.

Half-centuries from AB de Villiers (55 from 33 balls) and Virat Kohli (79 off 48 balls) ensured that RCB would get a big score, and Shane Watson joined the party with a quickfire 33 off 19 balls with 3 sixes.

Delhi though did tremendously well in the last 3 overs to keep RCB down to 191-5, conceding an incredible 19 runs from the last 20 balls of their innings. It proved to be the difference between winning reasonably comfortably and the game possibly going down to the wire, especially considering how good the surface was for batting.

Delhi lost one of their openers, Shreyas Iyer, for naught too, and while Sanju Samson today also failed to fire, making a slow 9 from 14 balls, Quinton de Kock was bisecting the off-side field beautifully at the other end, striking boundaries at will.

The baby-faced batsman batted long enough to make his 200+ strike rate count, and found a useful ally in Karun Nair, whose unbeaten 54 off 42 balls kept the strike ticking over, whilst also providing the occasional boundary.

Delhi eased to victory in the end with 5 balls to spare, making one wonder if the toss and not the players decide the outcome of games with now 10 out of 11 matches having gone the way of side's chasing.

Delhi can continue putting that theory to the test when they entertain the Mumbai Indians at Feroz Shah Kotla in what could be a hot 4pm start next Saturday, while RCB also have the Mumbai Indians in their sights when they head to the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday night.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav (wk), S Aravind, Parvez Rasool, David Wiese, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel

Delhi Daredevils: Quinton de Kock (wk), Shreyas Iyer, JP Duminy, Karun Nair, Sanju Samson, Carlos Brathwaite, Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Amit Mishra, Zaheer Khan (c), Mohammad Shami

Mini Scorecard:

Royal Challengers Bangalore 191-5 (20 overs, 9.55rpo)

V Kohli 79 (48) M Shami 2-34 (4)

AB de Villiers 55 (33) C Brathwaite 1-18 (2)

Delhi Daredevils 192-3 (19.1 overs, rpo)

Q de Kock 108 (51) S Watson 2-25 (4)

K Nair 54* (42) S Aravind 1-32 (3)

Delhi Daredevils win by 7 wickets