The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Aug 07th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Season 9: Mishra takes 4 as Delhi Daredevils rout Kings XI Punjab

IPL Season 9: Mishra takes 4 as Delhi Daredevils rout Kings XI Punjab

User Rating: / 0

The battle between two of the three win-less sides left in the Indian Premier League turned out to be a no-contest as the Delhi Daredevils routed the Kings XI Punjab by 8 wickets thanks to an outstanding bowling performance by Amit Mishra, who removed 4 of the top 5 batsmen in the Punjab line-up to restrict the visitors to the Feroz Shah Kotla to just 111-9 from their 20 overs.

Zaheer Khan won a good toss and unsurprisingly invited the Kings XI Punjab to have a hit. It turned out to be not that much of a hit as the Punjab top order struggled against Mishra, who took 4-11 from 3 overs after Murali Vijay was an early casualty, run out for 1.

Manan Vohra top scored for Punjab with 32 and at 52-2 at the end of the 8th over, Punjab were very much in the game, only for Mishra to radically turn it in Delhi's favour. After removing the returning Shaun Marsh for 13, Mishra got rid of David Miller (9) and Glenn Maxwell (0) in the same over, before also accounting for Vohra as Punjab slipped to 59-5.

After the lower middle order also failed to produce anything of note, perhaps the only surprise was that the Punjab tail wagged with Mohit Sharma (15 off 8 balls) and Pardeep Sahu (18* from 12) ensuring that they got past the 100 run mark and batted through their overs.

Sandeep Sharma, just like he did in the last game, struck early, removing Shreyas Iyer for 3. However, any hope the Punjab bowlers might have had of putting up a fight in the game disappeared with an excellent second wicket partnership between Quinton de Kock (59* from 42 balls) and Sanju Samson (33 from 32 balls) as Delhi cruised to an easy win with 6.3 overs to spare.

Delhi's win by a massive margin cancels out their poor performance in their tournament opener against the Kolkata Knight Riders, while Punjab's poor net run rate not to mention consecutive defeats will already be a cause for concern for Preity Zinta's side.

They will get a chance to get on the board again when they take on the Rising Pune Supergiants in Mohali in the 4pm start on Sunday. Delhi meanwhile will look to build on the momentum from this win when they visit the Royal Challengers Bangalore later that same day.


Delhi Daredevils: Quinton de Kock (wk), Shreyas Iyer, JP Duminy, Karun Nair, Sanju Samson, Carlos Brathwaite, Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Amit Mishra, Zaheer Khan (c), Jayant Yadav

Kings XI Punjab: Manan Vohra, Murali Vijay, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller (c), Shaun Marsh, Wriddhiman Saha(wk), Axar Patel, Pardeep Sahu, Mitchell Johnson, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma

Mini Scorecard:

Kings XI Punjab 111-9 (20 overs, 5.55rpo)

M Vohra 32 (24) A Mishra 4-11 (3)

P Sahu 18* (12) Z Khan 1-14 (4)

Delhi Daredevils 113-2 (13.3 overs, 8.37rpo)

Q de Kock 59* (42) S Sharma 1-6 (2)

S Samson 33 (32) A Patel 1-25 (3)

Delhi Daredevils win by 8 wickets