The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Aug 07th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Season 9: De Villiers, Kohli guide RCB to easy win

IPL Season 9: De Villiers, Kohli guide RCB to easy win

User Rating: / 1

A 157 run second wicket partnership between AB de Villiers (82) and Virat Kohli (75) powered the Royal Challengers Bangalore to a comfortable 45 run win over the Sunrisers Hyderabad in a high scoring contest at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Tuesday night.

Both star batsmen struck attractive half-centuries with De Villiers hitting 6 sixes and 7 fours en route to making 82 from just 42 balls, while Kohli dropped anchor initially before accelerating himself later in the innings, making 75 from 51 balls, as RCB rebounded from the early loss of Chris Gayle, bowled off his thigh-pad for 1 by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, to post a mammoth score of 227-4 in their 20 overs.

Bhuvi came back to break the partnership, knocking off Virat Kohli's stumps as well, while Mustafizur Rahman was exceptional on his IPL debut, taking 2-26 from his 4 overs, getting rid of De Villiers and Shane Watson (19 from 8 balls) off consecutive deliveries to give the Sunrisers Hyderabad a fighting chance in the game.

However, a belligerent 35 off just 10 balls from young Sarfaraz Khan late in the piece, took RCB  well past the 200 run mark, and made the hosts strong favourites to get up and running early in this tournament.

Sunrisers' skipper David Warner gave his side a chance with aggressive 58 off just 25 balls of his own, but his teammates gave him virtually no support at the top of the order with Shikhar Dhawan (8), Naman Ojha (0) and Deepak Hooda (6) all failing to fire, while Moises Henriques wasted crucial deliveries, struggling to 19 from 23 balls before he fell to Adam Milne.

Eoin Moran, batting far too low down the order at no.6, chipped in with 22 from 18 balls, while Ashish Reddy provided some late fireworks, smashing 32 from 18 balls to ensure that the deficit wasn't too bad in the end. Leg spinner, Karn Sharma, who had been belted for 57 runs from his 4 overs earlier in the day, got some of his own back with a 17-ball 25 as the Sunrisers Hyderabad ensured that they weren't too far behind on net run rate, even at this early stage of the tournament.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav (wk), Stuart Binny, Parvez Rasool, Adam Milne, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Naman Ojha (wk), Ashish Reddy, Eoin Morgan, Deepak Hooda, Karn Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mustafizur Rahman, Ashish Nehra

Mini Scorecard:

Royal Challengers Bangalore 227-4 (20 overs, 11.35rpo)

AB de Villiers 82 (42) M Rahman 2-26 (4)

V Kohli 75 (51) B Kumar 2-55 (4)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 182-6 (20 overs, 9.10rpo)

D Warner 58 (25) S Watson 2-29 (4)

A Reddy 32 (18) Y Chahal 2-43 (4)

Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 45 runs