The Worlds Favourite Playground

Wednesday, Feb 26th

Last update:04:12:24 PM GMT

You are here: Tennis ATP / WTA Tour Kafelnikov, Fitzgerald and Woodbridge honoured by ITF

Kafelnikov, Fitzgerald and Woodbridge honoured by ITF

User Rating: / 0

Former Davis Cup champions Yevgeny Kafelnikov, John Fitzgerald and Todd Woodbridge are among the latest group of players to receive the Davis Cup Commitment Award. The ITF, through its National Associations, will present further Davis Cup Commitment Awards during this weekend’s 2016 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas World Group first round and Zone Group ties.

This award was conceived as part of the ITF’s 2013 Centenary celebrations, and is presented to Davis Cup players who have shown long-standing dedication to representing their country in this prestigious competition. Each award recipient will have competed in a minimum of 20 home-and-away ties or 50 ties at any level of the competition (including week-long zone group events) over their career.

The ITF presented the first seven trophies to players in an on-court presentation at the 100th Davis Cup Final in Prague in 2012. Among the initial recipients were Italy’s Nicola Pietrangeli, who heads the elite list of players having played 66 home or away ties for his country; and San Marino’s Domenico Vicini, who holds the record for the most ties played in all levels of the competition with a total of 93 ties.

This weekend presentations will be made to the following players at their respective Davis Cup home ties before the doubles rubber on Saturday 5 March.

Australia – John Fitzgerald, Todd Woodbridge

Peru – Jaime Yzaga

Russia – Yevgeny Kafelnikov

A total of 334 players have already qualified to receive the award. Presentations will be made to award winners at Davis Cup home ties throughout 2016. The Commitment Award trophies are based on the design of the current Davis Cup trophy. All recipients have been recognised on an honours board at the ITF headquarters in London and in a dedicated section on the official Davis Cup website.

ITF President David Haggerty said: “The Davis Cup Commitment Award reflects the dedication by players for more than a century to represent their country in this prestigious competition. These players have continued to rise to the unique challenge of competing in a team environment in front of their home fans, and we believe that it is fitting to recognise their efforts.”