The Worlds Favourite Playground

Thursday, Aug 13th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Others Rugby Springbok home fixtures for 2016 confirmed

Springbok home fixtures for 2016 confirmed

User Rating: / 0

Current Six Nations champions Ireland will play a three-test series against the Springboks in Cape Town, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth in June 2016, the South African Rugby Union (SARU) announced on Friday.

SARU also confirmed that back-to-back Rugby World Cup champions, New Zealand, would venture away from Johannesburg for the first time since 2011 when they meet the Springboks at Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban, on 8 October in the Castle Lager Rugby Championship.

Rugby World Cup finalists Australia return to Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria, while their semi-final opponents, Argentina, will venture into new territory for the Pumas, in Nelspruit, when they take on the Boks in the opening round of the Castle Lager Rugby Championship on 20 August.

Springbok home fixtures in 2016

Incoming Series v Ireland

·         11 June: South Africa v Ireland (1st Test), DHL Newlands, Cape Town

·         18 June: South Africa v Ireland (2nd Test), Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg

·         25 June: South Africa v Ireland (3rd Test), Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth

Rugby Championship (home fixtures)

·         20 August: South Africa v Argentina, Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit

·         1 October: South Africa v Australia, Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

·         8 October: South Africa v New Zealand, Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban