The Worlds Favourite Playground

Saturday, Oct 16th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Match 49: Zaheer, Iyer plot easy win for Delhi against Chennai Super Kings

IPL Match 49: Zaheer, Iyer plot easy win for Delhi against Chennai Super Kings

User Rating: / 0

The Chennai Super Kings' aspirations of a top 2 finish suffered a bit of a blow today with the Indian Premier League's table toppers suffering a shock 6 wicket defeat at the hands of a Delhi Daredevils side that had just pride to play for.

The Super Kings won the toss and unsurprisingly opted to bat first. They were in for a rude shock however as veteran Indian seamer Zaheer Khan produced a magical opening spell and was given excellent company at the other end by the returning Shahbaz Nadeem, who started the match by bowling a maiden over.

Such was Chennai's plight, that they managed just 16 runs in the powerplay, for the loss of Brendon McCullum. Nadeem bowled out his 4 overs for just 18 runs, while Zaheer Khan was virtually unplayable, taking 2-9 from his 4 overs.

Chennai struggled to a below par total of 119-6 from their 20 overs with Fad du Plessis top scoring with 29 from 23 balls, while skipper MS Dhoni made 27 from 24.

Delhi lost Quinton de Kock early in their chase for just 3 runs, but Shreyas Iyer played the knock of a lifetime in front of the Indian national captain, carrying his bat through on a difficult pitch to finish with an excellent 70 from just 49 balls, in a clear statement of his immense talent.

Yuvraj Singh chipped in with a handy 32 from 28 balls to keep Iyer company long enough to steer Delhi to a 6 wicket win with more than 3 overs to spare.

While the result makes no real difference to Delhi as they languish in 7th place in the league standings, Chennai will have to work hard to hang on to a top 2 berth despite leading the table at present with 16 points with just 1 game left to play.


Delhi Daredevils: Shreyas Iyer, Quinton de Kock (wk), JP Duminy (c), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Saurabh Tiwary, Albie Morkel, Jayant Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Gurinder Sandhu, Zaheer Khan

Chennai Super Kings: Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Pawan Negi, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey

Mini Scorecard:

Chennai Super Kings 119/6 (20 overs, 5.95rpo)

F du Plessis 29 (23) Z Khan 2-9 (4)

MS Dhoni 27 (24) A Morkel 2-21 (3)

Delhi Daredevils 120/4 (16.4 overs, 7.20rpo)

S Iyer 70* (49) I Pandey 2-27 (4)

Y Singh 32 (28) P Negi 2-28 (3)

Delhi Daredevils win by 6 wickets