The Worlds Favourite Playground

Saturday, Oct 16th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Match 48: Miller heroics go in vain as Sunrisers Hyderabad win by 5 runs

IPL Match 48: Miller heroics go in vain as Sunrisers Hyderabad win by 5 runs

User Rating: / 0

The Sunrisers Hyderabad continue to be in contention for a place in this season's eliminator game, moving back into fourth place today with a narrow 5 run win over the Kings XI Punjab in Hyderabad.

The Sunrisers won the toss and elected to bat first. Skipper David Warner gave his side the perfect start, smashing his way to 81 from just 52 balls as they amassed an excellent 185-5 from their 20 overs. Shikhar Dhawan chipped in with 24 from 18 balls at the top of the order before he was stumped off the bowling of Glenn Maxwell, while Moises Henriques coming in at no.3 made a handy 28 from 24 balls.

Lokesh Rahul (17*) and Karn Sharma (11*) landed some lusty blows late in the innings to ensure that the hard work done early wasn't wasted as the Kings XI bowlers leaked runs galore once again this evening.

Murali Vijay (24) and Manan Vohra (20) gave their side a competitive start, but left-arm spinner Bipul Sharma removed both openers to knock Kings XI back.

Unfortunately for the league's basement dwellers, their middle order once again failed miserably with Saha (5), Maxwell (11), Bailey (6) and Gurkeerat Singh (3) falling in quick succession to leave their side in a huge hole at 99-6. Moises Henriques was the wrecker-in-chief for his team, taking an excellent 3-16 from his 4 overs.

David Miller though made the game interesting by smashing an unbeaten 89 from just 44 balls to bring Punjab perilously close to sealing an upset, however, with 28 runs required from the last over bowled by Ishant Sharma, Miller could manage just 22 as the Sunrisers sneaked over the line in the end.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Shikhar Dhawan, David Warner (c), Moises Henriques, Eoin Morgan, KL Rahul, Naman Ojha (wk), Karn Sharma, Trent Boult, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Bipul Sharma, Ishant Sharma

Kings XI Punjab: Murali Vijay, Manan Vohra, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Glenn Maxwell, George Bailey (c), David Miller, Gurkeerat Singh, Axar Patel, Beuran Hendricks, Sandeep Sharma, Anureet Singh

Mini Scorecard:

Sunrisers Hyderabad 185/5 (20 overs, 9.25rpo)

D Warner 81 (52) B Hendricks 2-40 (4)

M Henriques 28 (24) G Singh 1-27 (3)

Kings XI Punjab 180/7 (20 overs, 9.00rpo)

D Miller 89* (44) M Henriques 3-16 (4)

M Vijay 24 (18) B Sharma 2-13 (2)

Sunrisers Hyderabad win by 5 runs