The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Nov 28th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Match 31: Delhi Daredevils crush Kings XI Punjab at Kotla

IPL Match 31: Delhi Daredevils crush Kings XI Punjab at Kotla

User Rating: / 0

A return to the Feroz Shah Kotla proved productive for the Delhi Daredevils, who crushed the Kings XI Punjab by 9 wickets with more than 6 overs to spare to leave Preity Zinta's side firmly rooted to the bottom of the Indian Premier League points table.

The Daredevils won a good toss on home turf and wasted little time in reducing the Kings XI to an appalling 10-4 inside the fourth over with the returning Zaheer Khan doing some early damage, removing both of Punjab's openers Virender Sehwag and Manan Vohra for a run each.

An inspired decision by Delhi skipper JP Duminy to share the new ball with Zak saw him take the wicket of Shaun Marsh, and an equally good to decision to bring on Nathan Coulter-Nile for the fourth over saw the Aussie get rid of Wriddhiman Saha for 3 to leave Punjab looking dead an buried already.

David Miller made a 41-ball 42 to give Punjab a glimmer of hope, and 18 runs from skipper George Bailey and 22 from Axar Patel took Kings XI past the 100 run mark. Coulter-Nile returned to clean up the lower middle order, and finished with figures of 4-20 as Kings XI Punjab ended with a well under par total of 118-8.

Delhi in response made the perfect start with Shreyas Iyer stroking debutant Shardul Thakur for a couple of sixes in his first over in the IPL, and the Delhi openers - Iyer and Mayank Agarwal both made half-centuries to steer their side to a comfortable win.

Iyer was finally dismissed by Thakur for a 40-ball 54, but Agarwal ended unbeaten on 52, having faced as many deliveries as his opening partner as Delhi moved to fourth place in the Premier League standings, a point above RCB, but having also played a game more.

Mini Scorecard:

Kings XI Punjab 118/8 (20 overs, 5.90rpo)

D Miller 42 (41) N Coulter-Nile 4-20 (4)

A Patel 22 (26) Z Khan 2-17 (4)

Delhi Daredevils 119/1 (13.5 overs, 8.60rpo)

S Iyer 54 (40) S Thakur 1-38 (3)

M Agarwal 52* (40)

Delhi Daredevils won by 9 wickets