The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, Aug 11th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Match 17: Kolkata Knight Riders hand Delhi disappointing defeat

IPL Match 17: Kolkata Knight Riders hand Delhi disappointing defeat

User Rating: / 0

Being on the path of victory doesn't appear to have been destined for the Delhi Daredevils for too long as the reigning IPL champions the Kolkata Knight Riders handed the Daredevils a heavy 6 wicket defeat at the Feroz Shah Kotla, with the Delhi franchise now losing 9 matches in a row on home turf.

The Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and decided to invite Delhi to make first use of a pitch that skipper Gautam Gambhir knows better than the back of his hand. Another Delhi boy in Kolkata clothing, Umesh Yadav excelled with the ball, taking 2-18 in his 4 overs, and was helped by an ex-Daredevil in Morne Morkel, who also chipped in with two wickets. Piyush Chawla meanwhile also picked up a couple of wickets, and in doing so joined the growing 100 wicket club in the IPL.

Manoj Tiwary top scored for the Daredevils, making 32, while Indian youth prospect Shreyas Iyer made 31. Many of the other Delhi batsmen too got starts, but no one went on to make a big score. Delhi were ultimately restricted to 146-8, a mediocre score by any standards.

Gautam Gambhir then took on the mantle of chasing down the runs himself, top scoring with 60 and fell in the penultimate over of the game with Kolkata just 3 runs shy of victory. Yusuf Pathan made another excellent contribution, remaining unbeaten on 40, while Surya Kumar Yadav once again provided some fireworks, chipping in with 24 from 16 balls.

The win takes Kolkata Knight Riders to 6 points, level with the Chennai Super Kings, who have also won 3 games so far this season, and are sitting in 2nd place in the standings.

Mini Scorecard:

Delhi Daredevils 146/8 (20 overs, 7.30rpo)

M Tiwary 32 (28) U Yadav 2-18 (4)

S Iyer 31 (24) P Chawla 2-27 (4)

Kolkata Knight Riders 147/4 (18.1 overs, 8.09rpo)

G Gambhir 60 (48) D Muthuswami 2-18 (3)

Y Pathan 40 (26) N Coulter-Nile 1-30 (4)

Kolkata Knight Riders win by 6 wickets