The Worlds Favourite Playground

Saturday, Oct 16th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL IPL Match 6: Rajasthan seal last ball win as luck deserts Delhi again

IPL Match 6: Rajasthan seal last ball win as luck deserts Delhi again

User Rating: / 0

Lady luck continues to reside as far away from the Delhi Daredevils' camp as possible as the home side suffered their 2nd straight last ball defeat in this season's IPL and were also as a result condemned to an 11th loss in a row, going all the way back to last season.

The Rajasthan Royals won the toss and opted to chase in the 4pm kick-off at the Feroz Shah Kotla. The Delhi team had three changes with allrounder Angelo Mathews replacing Albie Morkel, who came within a run of winning the last game for the Daredevils. Additionally, Jaydev Unadkat and Manoj Tiwary came in for CM Gautam and Domnic Muthuswami. Gautam sitting out meant that Delhi used a part-time keeper in Kedar Jadhav behind the stumps. The Rajasthan Royals meanwhile were unchanged, which meant no Shane Watson in this game either.

Delhi got off to a good start, posting a competitive total of 184-3 on what was a good pitch on a very small ground. Skipper JP Duminy top scored for the hosts, making an unbeaten 44 from 38 balls, with his innings punctuated with 3 sixes, two of them coming in the last over of the innings.

Mayank Agarwal gave Delhi some early impetus, making 37 from 21 balls before he was caught and bowled by Pravin Tambe. His opening partner Shreyas Iyer also chipped in with a handy 40 from 30 balls. All the Delhi batsmen got starts with Yuvraj Singh providing some mid-innings impetus by making a handy 27 from 17 balls, and Angelo Mathews finishing well with another 27, this time from just 14 deliveries.

Despite the good stats, one couldn't help but feel that Delhi should have made in excess of 200 runs in what were very inviting conditions, and their failure to take advantage of their batting depth might have cost them in the final reckoning.

Rajasthan's response with the bat was measured with Ajinkya Rahane doing well at the top of the order, but losing partners fairly regularly as Sanju Samson (11), Steve Smith (10) and Karun Nair (20) all chipped in with the bat, but failed to provide any real continuity. Rajasthan also lost Stuart Binny cheaply for 1, and at 78-4 their innings was in danger of losing impetus.

However, the arrival of 20-year old Baroda star Deepak Hooda transformed the Rajasthan innings with the youngster smashing 54 off just 25 balls to bring the Royals storming back into the contest.

Imran Tahir struck late on to make the game interesting, removing Rahane for 47, Hooda for 54 and the dangerous James Faulkner for 17, leaving Delhi with 12 runs to defend form the last over.

Angelo Mathews appeared to have everything under control when he conceded just 4 runs from the first 3 deliveries, but Chris Morris struck the fourth ball of the over for a boundary to change the equation dramatically.

Morris snuck a single off the next ball leaving Tim Southee with 3 to win and 2 to force a super over. Mathews though over-pitched his attempt at bowling a yorker and Southee smashed the ball to the extra cover boundary to win the game for Rajasthan.

The victory is Rajasthan's second straight from as many games, and they will be chasing a three-peat when they take on the Sunrisers Hyderabad in Vizag on Thursday, 16th April. Delhi meanwhile will be hoping to bring their run of defeats to an end once and for all when they collide with the Kings XI Punjab in Pune on Wednesday.


Delhi Daredevils: M Agarwal, S Iyer, JP Duminy (c), Y Singh, M Tiwary, A Mathews, K Jadhav (wk), N Coulter-Nile, A Mishra, I Tahir, J Unadkat

Rajasthan Royals: A Rahane, S Samson (wk), S Smith (c), K Nair, S Binny, D Hooda, J Faulkner, C Morris, T Southee, D Kulkarni, P Tambe

Mini Scorecard:

Delhi Daredevils 184-3 (20 overs, 9.20rpo)

JP Duminy 44* (38) C Morris 2-35 (4)

S Iyer 40 (30) P Tambe 1-18 (3)

Rajasthan Royals 186-7 (20 overs, 9.30rpo)

D Hooda 54 (25) I Tahir 4-28 (4)

A Rahane 47 (39) A Mishra 2-32 (4)

Rajasthan Royals win by 3 wickets