The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, Jul 14th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket CLT20 Chennai Super Kings crush Kolkata Knight Riders in CLT20 Final

Chennai Super Kings crush Kolkata Knight Riders in CLT20 Final

User Rating: / 0

The Chennai Super Kings have stopped the Kolkata Knight Riders' unbeaten streak at 14 matches, thumping them by 8 wickets in the Final of the Champions League T20 in Bangalore tonight.

Having been put into bat after losing the toss, KKR posted a competitive 180-6 in their 20 overs, but will probably feel they were about 20 odd runs short, especially after the start they were given by captain Gautam Gambhir, who top scored for the IPL Champions with 80 from just 52 balls.

Gambhir's knock, punctuated with 7 boundaries and 3 maximums was part of a 91 run stand he shared for the opening wicket with Robin Uthappa, who made a handy 39 from 32 balls.

Young Pawan Negi spun CSK back into the contest, taking an excellent 5-22 from his 4 overs and ran through the KKR top order. Manish Pandey (32 from 19 balls) and Yusuf Pathan (20* from 9 balls) provided some late entertainment, but KKR would have been disappointed not to get past 200.

KKR's bowling attack, sans the suspended Sunil Narine, struggled to contain Chennai's top order despite Pat Cummins getting rid of Dwayne Smith for 8 in the first over.

Brendon McCullum was a touch off-colour today, but still managed to post a competitive 39 from 30 balls. But firing all guns blazing at the other end was Player of the Series Suresh Raina, who produced a match winning century to power his team to an easy win.

Raina shared a 118 run partnership with McCullum and together they took the game away from KKR, who seemed to have no real gameplan for taking wickets.

Raina ended with an unbeaten 109 from just 62 balls courtesy 8 sixes and 6 fours and saw his side over the line with 9 balls to spare in the company of his skipper MS Dhoni, who hit 23 from 14 balls, finishing the match with a patented six.

Mini Scorecard:

Kolkata Knight Riders 180/6 (20 overs, 9.00rpo)

G Gambhir 80 (52) P Negi 5-22 (4)

R Uthappa 39 (32) R Jadeja 1-25 (4)

Chennai Super Kings 185/2 (18.3 overs, 10.00rpo)

S Raina 109* (62) P Cummins 1-32 (3)

B McCullum 39 (30) Y Pathan 1-34 (3.3)

Chennai Super Kings win by 8 wickets