The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Jan 19th

Last update:04:12:24 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket CLT20 Kolkata Knight Riders win 14th straight match to advance to CLT20 Final

Kolkata Knight Riders win 14th straight match to advance to CLT20 Final

User Rating: / 0

Indian Premier League champions Kolkata Knight Riders kept their unbeaten run going and advanced to the Final of the Champions League T20 with a 7 wicket demolition of the Hobart Hurricanes in Hyderabad on Thursday.

The Hurricanes, who won the toss and chose to bat first, slipped to 13-2 inside the opening three overs after Dom Micheal had been caught and bowled by Andre Russell for naught and star batsman Aiden Blizzard was also sent back for a first ball duck, deemed leg before to Yusuf Pathan. The latter decision was a terrible one from Umpire S Ravi, with the batsman clearly having got an inside edge on the ball.

The Hurricanes struggled to recover from their poor start and slid to 91-5 in 16.1 despite a blistering 39 from 29 balls from Ben Dunk. At that stage it looked like they would struggle to get anything more than 120 on the board, but some belligerent hitting late in the innings from former Pakistan skipper Sohaib Malik, who made an unbeaten 66 from 46 balls, helped them to post a competitive score of 140-6 in their 20 overs.

Kolkata weren't at their fluent best in their chase, losing Gautam Gambhir early for 4 and Robin Uthappa for a patient 17 from 21 balls. However, a 63 run partnership between Manish Pandey (40 from 32 balls) and Jacques Kallis (54 from 40 balls) took their side closer to victory.

Pandey fell to Ben Laughlin in the 16th over, but Kallis stepped into overdrive to see his side home in the company of Yusuf Pathan, who made a comfortable 14 from 13 balls.

Kolkata won the match with 5 balls to spare and await the winners of the match between the Chennai Super Kings and the Kings XI Punjab in today's second semi-final.

Mini Scorecard:

Hobart Hurricanes 140/6 (20 overs, 7.00rpo)

S Malik 66* (46) S Narine 1-24 (4)

B Dunk 39 (29) Y Pathan 1-24 (4)

Kolkata Knight Riders 141/3 (19.1 overs, 7.35rpo)

J Kallis 54* (40) D Bollinger 1-26 (3.1)

M Pandey 40 (32) X Doherty 1-28 (4)

Kolkata Knight Riders win by 7 wickets