The Worlds Favourite Playground

Monday, Jan 27th

Last update:04:12:24 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket CLT20 Perera, Maxwell guide Kings XI Punjab to easy win

Perera, Maxwell guide Kings XI Punjab to easy win

User Rating: / 0

The Kings XI Punjab recovered from a spot of bother at 51-4 in their pursuit of 145 to win to beat the Hobart Hurricanes by 5 wickets in their Group B opener at Mohali today. An all round performance from Sri Lankan star Thisara Perera saw the Kings XI over the line as the medium pacer picked up 2 crucial wickets for just 17 runs in 3 overs and then produced some big blows with the bat to post an unbeaten 35 from 20 balls to guide Punjab to victory.

Having been put into bat, the Hobart Hurricanes posted an underwhelming 144-6 from their 20 overs with each of their top 6 getting into double figures, but no one really going on to make a telling contribution. A pair of 28s lower down the order from Travis Birt and Jonathan Wells helped Hobart put something up on the board to defend after a sluggish start saw them barely scoring between 6 and 7 runs an over.

Kings XI struggled themselves in the chase, losing veteran Indian dasher Virender Sehwag for a golden duck on the first ball of the innings, caught at third man of a rank long hop off Doug Bollinger. The former Aussie pacer then had Wriddhiman Saha caught in the ring before Manan Vohra also threw this wicket away after a patient 18. David Miller also fell to a veteran Aussie in Ben Hilfenhaus for naught, but the depth of the Kings XI side got them out of trouble.

An excellent 43 from 25 balls from Glenn Maxwell, and a handy 34 from 27 from skipper George Bailey set about resurrecting the innings at some pace before Perera came out and took over from where Maxwell left off to take his side to victory with more than 2 overs to spare.

Mini Scorecard:

Hobart Hurricanes 144/6 (20 overs, 7.2rpo)

J Wells 28 (18) T Perera 2-17 (3)

T Birt 28 (21) A Patel 1-20 (4)

Kings XI Punjab 146/5 (17.4 overs, 8.26rpo)

G Maxwell 43 (25) D Bollinger 2-30 (4)

T Perera 35 (20) B Laughlin 1-26 (4)

Kings XI Punjab win by 5 wickets