The Worlds Favourite Playground

Wednesday, Dec 01st

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket CLT20 Perera powers Sunrisers to thrilling win against Trinidad & Tobago

Perera powers Sunrisers to thrilling win against Trinidad & Tobago

User Rating: / 0

An unbeaten 57 from Sri Lankan all rounder Thisara Perera to go with his 2-26 from 4 overs powered the Sunrisers Hyderabad to an excellent 4 wicket win over a very competitive Trinidad & Tobago side with 3 balls to spare in an entertaining encounter in Mohali.

Some outstanding individual efforts from Darren Bravo, who smashed 66 from 44 balls a knock which included 4 sixes, and an immaculate bowling effort from Sunil Narine, who took 4-9 from his 4 overs, went in vain as the Sunrisers chased down a competitive target of 160 in the final over.

The Sunrisers' pace attack was ripped to shreds today as Dale Steyn and Ishant Sharma conceded 77 runs in their 8 overs, despite picking up 3 wickets between them. Steyn's only one of the match came off the very first ball as he had Lendl Simmons caught behind for naught.

Bravo and Evin Lewis added 49 for the second wicket with the latter smashing 22 from 14 balls before he and Bravo were both snapped up by Ishant Sharma.

Some handy bowling from all rounders Darren Sammy and Perera kept the Sunrisers in the contest as they picked up 4 wickets for 47 runs from their 8 overs to pull the scoring rate back considerably. Amit Mishra was tonked around today, and Karan Sharma (perhaps because of that) didn't even get a bowl. Trinidad & Tobago finished with 160-8 from their 20 overs.

Crucially for the Sunrisers, there were partnerships galore despite Narine's brilliance with the ball. Everyone in their top order with the exception of Ashish Reddy (0) got into double figures, but it was Perera who produced the decisive knock in the end to power his side to victory.

Mini Scorecard:

Trinidad & Tobago 160/8 (20 overs, 8.00rpo)

DM Bravo 66 (44) D Sammy 2-21 (4)

E Lewis 22 (14) T Perera 2-26 (4)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 164/6 (19.3 overs, 8.41rpo)

T Perera 57* (32) S Narine 4-9 (4)

S Dhawan 23 (18) N Stewart 1-32 (3.3)

Sunrisers Hyderabad win by 4 wickets