The Worlds Favourite Playground

Wednesday, Dec 01st

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket CLT20 CLT20: Sunrisers decimated by Otago Volts

CLT20: Sunrisers decimated by Otago Volts

User Rating: / 0

In the second of the dead rubbers on Friday night, the Otago Volts routed the Sunrisers Hyderabad to carry some invaluable momentum with them into the Group Stage of the Champions League T20, thus also extending their own unbeaten run to 13 matches to tie Surrey with the second greatest run in T20 history (Sialkot Stallions are at the top with 25 games).

The match itself proved to be a virtual no contest as the Sunrisers Hyderabad crawled to a paltry 143-5 in their 20 overs with skipper Shikhar Dhawan (12) and Parthiv Patel (12) both failing for the first time in the tournament. Nathan McCullum removed both the openers and set Otago on their way to victory very early on in the contest.

JP Duminy's unbeaten 57 from 38 balls was well supported by 26 from Darren Sammy and 25 from Cameron White, but the runs came too late in the innings after Biplab Samantray failed for the second time in as many matches, making a poor 8 from 16 balls to put the Sunrisers on the back foot.

The Volts cruised to the target in just 16.2 overs with Nathan's brother Brendon top scoring with 67 from 39 balls, an essay which included 5 hits to the fence and an equal number over it.

There was some good news to come from the game for the Sunrisers, with Dale Steyn making a welcome return to form, taking 2-13 from 3 overs.

The Otago Volts meanwhile will be looking to keep their winning momentum going when they take on the Mumbai Indians in their Group Stage opener on Monday, 23rd September. By then Mumbai would have already played a match against the Rajasthan Royals in Jaipur. The Sunrisers meanwhile will look to start afresh when they collide with Trinidad & Tobago the following day.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Parthiv Patel, Shikhar Dhawan, JP Duminy, Biplab Samantray, Darren Sammy, Cameron White, Ashish Reddy, Karan Sharma, Amit Mishra, Dale Steyn, Ishant Sharma.

Otago Volts: Neil Broom, Hamish Rutherford, Brendon McCullum, Ryan ten Doeschate, James Neesham, Nathan McCullum, Derek de Boorder, Michael Bracewell, Neil Wagner, Nick Beard, Sam Wells.

Mini Scorecard:

Sunrisers Hyderabad 143/5 (20 overs, 8.15rpo)

JP Duminy 57* (38) N McCullum 2-23 (4)

D Sammy 26 (22) N Beard 2-31 (4)

Otago Volts 144/5 (16.2 overs, 8.81rpo)

B McCullum 67* (39) D Steyn 2-13 (3)

H Rutherford 27 (23) A Mishra 1-26 (4)

Volts win by 5 wickets