The Worlds Favourite Playground

Wednesday, Aug 12th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket CLT20 Sunrisers Hyderabad storm into Champions League T20 Group Stage

Sunrisers Hyderabad storm into Champions League T20 Group Stage

User Rating: / 0

The Sunrisers Hyderabad powered their way into the Group Stages of the Champions League T20 and will be joined there by the Otago Volts as both sides registered convincing wins on day 2 of the qualifiers to book their spots in the tournament proper. Following the Volts' 6 wicket win over the Maroons earlier in the day, the Sunrisers knew that a win against the Pakistan T20 Champions, the Faisalabad Wolves would guarantee them a place in the last 8, and did so with consummate ease, crushing the Wolves by 7 wickets with 15 balls to spare.

Batting first, the Wolves battled their way to 127-5, a well under par score in Mohali, and only really managed to get that many thanks to the brilliance of their skipper Misbah ul Haq, who posted an unbeaten half century, making 56 from 40 balls. The Sunrisers' bowlers shared the wickets amongst them with Amit Mishra the most economical of the lot, taking 1-13 from his 4 overs, and probably should have got a couple more had it not been for some ordinary umpiring.

In response to the ordinary total, the Sunrisers got off to another blazing start with Shikhar Dhawan (59) and Parthiv Patel (23) sharing a 68 run partnership for the opening wicket before the latter fell to Ehsan Adil.

Dhawan posted another half-century to follow up his good form from yesterday, and that ensured that Hyderabad were never really in any danger of missing out. JP Duminy scored a neat unbeaten 20, while Darren Sammy top and inside edged his way to 14 to see the Sunrisers to victory.

The Sunrisers and the Volts will do battle on Friday in a dead rubber with the Volts already guaranteed to go into Group A, while the Sunrisers will go into Group B. This was pre-arranged to ensure that three IPL teams would no go into any one group. Hence the Volts join Mumbai Indians (India), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Perth Scorchers (Australia) and Rajasthan Royals (India), while the Sunrisers will join the Chennai Super Kings (India), Titans (South Africa), Brisbane Heat (Australia) and Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies) in Group B.

The Group Stage will commence with a clash between the IPL 2013 champions, the Mumbai Indians and the Rajasthan Royals at Jaipur, on Saturday, 21 September.

Mini Scorecard:

Faisalabad Wolves 127/5 (20 overs, 6.35 rpo)

M ul Haq 56* (40) A Mishra 1-13 (4)

A Mahmood 31 (38) K Sharma 1-13 (2)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 131/3 (17.3 overs, 7.48 rpo)

P Patel 23 (21) I Khalid 2-14 (2)

S Dhawan 59 (50) E Adil 1-14 (3)

Sunrisers Hyderabad win by 7 wickets