The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, Jul 14th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket CLT20 CLT20: Dhawan's Sunrisers cruise past Sangakkara's Maroons to post easy win

CLT20: Dhawan's Sunrisers cruise past Sangakkara's Maroons to post easy win

User Rating: / 0

The Sunrisers Hyderabad took a giant step towards qualification for the Champions League T20 Group Stages with a crushing 8 wicket victory over the Sri Lankan T20 Champions, Kandurata Maroons at Mohali today. In a game which featured 4 half-centurions, Kumar Sangakkara's 61 and Lahiru Thirimanne's 54, both scored at solid strike rates in excess of 130 went in vain as Shikhar Dhawan (71) and Parthiv Patel (52) put their team well on the course to victory with a 121 run stand for the opening wicket, chasing down the Maroons' target of 169 to win with 9 balls to spare.

The Sunrisers weren't at their best with the ball, and certainly could have fielded better, but did start well, keeping down the flow of runs in the early overs as the Maroons stuttered to 33-2 at the end of 5 overs. Sangakkara and Thirimanne were required to do a rebuilding job initially before cutting lose towards the second half of their innings to post 168-3. Ishant Sharma was the pick of the bowlers for the Sunrisers taking 2-20 from his 4 overs, while Darren Sammy picked up the only other wicket to fall.

Having a target to aim for certainly made the Sunrisers' job easier with Parthiv Patel getting the side off to a flier before Shikhar Dhawan joined in the fun. The difference in quality of the two bowling units was on start display and while Dhawan benefited from being dropped a couple of times, a solid opening stand from the Sunrisers made this a virtual no contest.

When both openers fell, Thisara Perera came out and played a fantastic little cameo, smashing 32 from just 11 balls to take his side to an easy win, including finishing the game in style with a huge 6 back over national teammate Nuwan Kulasekara's head.

Mini Scorecard:

Kandurata Maroons 168-3 (20 overs, 8.40 rpo)

K Sangakkara 61* (46) I Sharma 2-20 (4)

L Thirimanne 54 (39) D Sammy 1-31 (4)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 174-2 (18.3 overs, 9.40 rpo)

P Patel 52 (42) S Jayasuriya 1-25

S Dhawan 71 (53) A Mendis 1-39

Sunrisers win by 8 wickets