The Worlds Favourite Playground

Thursday, Jan 21st

Last update:03:52:25 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket One Day Internationals Sri Lanka hammer South Africa again to take series 4-1

Sri Lanka hammer South Africa again to take series 4-1

User Rating: / 0

AB de Villiers hit a defiant half-century but there was little other cheer for the South Africa as they suffered their second defeat by more than 100 runs in the ODI series against Sri Lanka at Colombo on Wednesday. Sri Lanka won the final match by a substantial 128 runs to finish dominant 4-1 winners of the five-match series. Both teams will now turn their attention to the three-match T20 International series starting on Friday.

Sri Lanka always controlled the game after winning the toss and putting 307 runs on the board for the loss of only four wickets after their two in-form veterans, Tillakaratne Dilshan (99 off 110 balls, 13 fours) and Kumar Sangakkara (75 not out off 45 balls, 12 fours), had again confirmed themselves not only as the best but more importantly the most consistent batsmen on either side.

The Proteas once again struggled with their inability to put pressure on their opponents and take wickeks in the middle overs. Sri Lanka were able to pick up boundaries too easily during this period and it is an area that the selectors will need to address.

Morne Morkel and Lonwabo Tsotsobe had made a reasonable start with the new ball, restricting Sri Lanka to 56/1 in the first 15 overs but thereafter it was one-way traffic.

The Proteas made an encouraging start to their runs chase with 34 runs coming in the first five overs, largely due to some good boundary-hitting by Quinton de Kock, but the introduction of the Sri Lankan spinners proved too much for the top-order as has been the case for most of the series. They slumped quickly to 69/4 and then 86/6 inside the first 20 overs.

Spinners Sachithra Senanayake (2/29) and Ajantha Mendis (3/36) took 5/65 between them in 19 overs while Dilshan continued his all-round form by taking 1/41 in his 10 overs.

There have been good individual contributions through the series by De Villiers, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy and David Miller but it has been on a one-off basis and the Proteas need to find some consistency among their top-order batsmen.

There is certainly a great deal of food for thought for the new selection panel before the Proteas head to the UAE for another tough ODI series under sub-continental conditions against Pakistan.


Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (c) Angelo Perera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Ajantha Mendis

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, AB de Villiers (capt), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien,  Ryan McLaren, Aaron Phangiso, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

Mini Scorecard:

Sri Lanka 307-4 (50 overs, 6.14 rpo)

T Dilshan 99 (110) A Phangiso 1-48

K Sangakkara 75 (45) R McLaren 1-47

South Africa 179 all out (43.5 overs, 4.08rpo)

AB de Villiers 51 (51) S Lakmal 3-24

R McLaren 29 (73) A Mendis 3-36

Sri Lanka win by 128 runs